TC->Lister->Fullscreen->Text/Hex view-> No exit

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 644
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

TC->Lister->Fullscreen->Text/Hex view-> No exit

Post by *MaxX » 2016-12-12, 23:53 UTC

1. Launch TC
2. Get Imagine.wlx installed properly
3. Find any image and [F3]
4. (imagine.wlx) Use context menus or press [Enter] for fullscreen
5. Press [1],[2],[3] keys to see some bugs

I. Lister does not go back from fullscreen, windows stays on the top with no [_][■][X] buttons and overlays Windows Start bar.

II. TC 32 and 64 bits work diffrent:
TC 32 at least shows lister's own menus, so you can close lister with mouse.
TC 64 does not show any menus, so you can't close lister without keyboard.

I've tried with finals 8.01, 8.52a and 9.0 under Win 7 SP1 x64, and all of these TC's are affected.

Screenshots for 32 and 64 bit TC:
http://fotohost.by/images/2016/12/13/32.png
http://fotohost.by/images/2016/12/13/64.png

User avatar
Ovg
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 573
Joined: 2014-01-06, 16:26 UTC
Location: MOW

Post by *Ovg » 2016-12-13, 07:17 UTC

2MaxX
For me imagine (x64) shows own context menus, so I can close lister without keyboard or double click at screen bottom reverts to normal window.
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
#259941, TC 9.21a x64, Windows 7 SP1 x64

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8198
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-12-13, 07:56 UTC

MaxX,
I confirm such behaviour, but I've never seen it before during those years that I use Imagine. And I doubt that I will see it again - I never need to switch Lister mode when I watch images in full-screen Imagine mode.

Anyway, it is impossible for TC to protect you from all plugin effects, so in this particular case, if you have pressed 1, 2 or 3 to switch Lister mode using keyboard, you can simply press Esc to exit Lister using keyboard...

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36782
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-12-13, 11:05 UTC

Thanks for the report. Currently I have no plans to change this, sorry. Lister doesn't have a "Full screen" option itself, that's done by Imagine itself, out of my control. As MVV writes, you can still press ESC when you can press 1 - or press 4 to return to imagine.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 644
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

Post by *MaxX » 2016-12-13, 21:57 UTC

Ok, that was too easy. Let's dig deeper...
Now you'll also need OOoViewer.wlx installed.

1. Select 1 JPG file and 1 FB2
2. [Shift]+[F3] (default hot key) on JPG
3. [Enter] to go fullscreen and then [1],[2],[3]...
4. [P] or [N] to go to FB2
5. Now OOoViewer.wlx is loaded and [ESC] key does not work any more. The same is for [N] and [P].
Now you can NOT go to prev./next file, can't close lister via ESC. The only way is [Win] or [Alt]+[Tab] to see taskbar and close window via context menu from there.

That is enough complicated in real life, so I can understand if nothing changes with Lister's over-full-screen mode.
But at least 32 and 64 bit TC should work the same.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8198
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-12-14, 07:11 UTC

Alt+F4? :)

There is no way to prevent plugins from subclassing window, so there is no reliable way to prevent catching control keys... Plugins should do it carefully.

User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 644
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: Earth

Post by *MaxX » 2016-12-14, 07:54 UTC

2MVV
Yes, Alt+F4 is the only way, until when ukrainian language is not used... But that's another problem for another bugreport.
Here I'm talking NOT about fullscreen or keys override.
Diffrence between TC 32 and TC 64 is a bug: http://savepic.net/8687956.png

Post Reply