[9.10x64RC1] Crash when F6 F2 to SMB share
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
[9.10x64RC1] Crash when F6 F2 to SMB share
Got this several times now.
I try to move a file via the queue to an SMB share (F6,F2).
I've noticed there's a background window just with the top row of buttons, guess this is related to the previous unpacking dialog bug.
Stack:
ntoskrnl.exe!KeSynchronizeExecution+0x3f46
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0xfda
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x9a1
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2b8
ntoskrnl.exe!KeCheckProcessorGroupAffinity+0xb64
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2a3e
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x11a7
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x9a1
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2b8
win32kfull.sys!xxxWindowEvent+0xa28
win32kfull.sys!NtUserPostMessage+0x3e8d
win32kfull.sys!NtUserCallNextHookEx+0x667
win32kfull.sys!NtUserMessageCall+0xba4
win32kfull.sys!NtUserMessageCall+0xfa
ntoskrnl.exe!setjmpex+0x3b63
win32u.dll!NtUserMessageCall+0x14
USER32.dll!SendMessageW+0x291
USER32.dll!SendMessageA+0x55
TOTALCMD64.EXE+0x4b0bcc
I try to move a file via the queue to an SMB share (F6,F2).
I've noticed there's a background window just with the top row of buttons, guess this is related to the previous unpacking dialog bug.
Stack:
ntoskrnl.exe!KeSynchronizeExecution+0x3f46
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0xfda
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x9a1
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2b8
ntoskrnl.exe!KeCheckProcessorGroupAffinity+0xb64
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2a3e
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x11a7
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x9a1
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x2b8
win32kfull.sys!xxxWindowEvent+0xa28
win32kfull.sys!NtUserPostMessage+0x3e8d
win32kfull.sys!NtUserCallNextHookEx+0x667
win32kfull.sys!NtUserMessageCall+0xba4
win32kfull.sys!NtUserMessageCall+0xfa
ntoskrnl.exe!setjmpex+0x3b63
win32u.dll!NtUserMessageCall+0x14
USER32.dll!SendMessageW+0x291
USER32.dll!SendMessageA+0x55
TOTALCMD64.EXE+0x4b0bcc
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50549
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Microsoft Windows Version 10.0.15063. TC as Admin.
The path length seems to be a factor.
Got this from VS:
00007FFDD015C163 as current position.
On continue I get:
Ausnahmefehler bei 0x00007FFDCDB89E53 (user32.dll) in TOTALCMD64.EXE: 0xC0000005: Zugriffsverletzung beim Lesen an Position 0xFFFFFFFFC28758B0
The path length seems to be a factor.
Got this from VS:
Code: Select all
00007FFDD015C125 call RtlUnicodeToMultiByteSize (07FFDD013FD10h)
00007FFDD015C12A test eax,eax
00007FFDD015C12C js wcstombs+68h (07FFDD015C138h)
00007FFDD015C12E mov rax,qword ptr [rsp+40h]
00007FFDD015C133 dec rax
00007FFDD015C136 jmp wcstombs+77h (07FFDD015C147h)
00007FFDD015C138 call _errno (07FFDD0148B10h)
00007FFDD015C13D mov dword ptr [rax],2Ah
00007FFDD015C143 or rax,0FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFh
00007FFDD015C147 add rsp,30h
00007FFDD015C14B pop rdi
00007FFDD015C14C ret
00007FFDD015C14D int 3
00007FFDD015C14E int 3
00007FFDD015C14F int 3
__GSHandlerCheck:
00007FFDD015C150 sub rsp,28h
00007FFDD015C154 mov r8,qword ptr [r9+38h]
00007FFDD015C158 mov rcx,rdx
00007FFDD015C15B mov rdx,r9
00007FFDD015C15E call __GSHandlerCheckCommon (07FFDD015C170h)
00007FFDD015C163 mov eax,1
00007FFDD015C168 add rsp,28h
00007FFDD015C16C ret
00007FFDD015C16D int 3
00007FFDD015C16E int 3
00007FFDD015C16F int 3
__GSHandlerCheckCommon:
00007FFDD015C170 push rbx
00007FFDD015C172 mov r11d,dword ptr [r8]
00007FFDD015C175 mov rbx,rdx
00007FFDD015C178 and r11d,0FFFFFFF8h
00007FFDD015C17C mov r9,rcx
00007FFDD015C17F test byte ptr [r8],4
00007FFDD015C183 mov r10,rcx
00007FFDD015C186 je __GSHandlerCheckCommon+2Bh (07FFDD015C19Bh)
00007FFDD015C188 mov eax,dword ptr [r8+8]
00007FFDD015C18C movsxd r10,dword ptr [r8+4]
00007FFDD015C190 neg eax
On continue I get:
Ausnahmefehler bei 0x00007FFDCDB89E53 (user32.dll) in TOTALCMD64.EXE: 0xC0000005: Zugriffsverletzung beim Lesen an Position 0xFFFFFFFFC28758B0
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50549
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
So can you give me a problematic path name, please?The path length seems to be a factor.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
I could provoke it two times with this path right after TC starts. After that it worked for about 20 times. I can't tell if it's really relevant.
If there's any debugger or other technique to help it narrow down please tell me.
Code: Select all
"e:\JDownloads\Some.Random.Pathname.withn.9010.+5.1-234.345-test\windows.rar"
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50549
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
How did you switch there to get the crash? Did you double click on windows.rar while in Some.Random.Pathname.withn.9010.+5.1-234.345-test? Or did you use a button or similar to go directly to the RAR?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
I'm not copying/moving from within in the Rar file if that's what you're asking. It could be "windows.txt" aswell. I'm navigating to the file by normal means, keyboard most of the time.
I'll be running TC with procdump in the background. Hopefully I'll get crash-dump tonight.
I'll be running TC with procdump in the background.
Code: Select all
procdump64.exe -e 1 -f "" -x c:\dumps "C:\Totalcmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE"
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50549
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I have analyzed the stack trace now - TC just calls SendMessage with WM_COMMAND message and lparam set to a pointer to the target path. The message is sent to the background copy window. There is absolutely NO reason why this would crash or hang, so I cannot do anything about this crash, sorry. 

Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50549
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
I'm still trying to find out why this is happening.
You wrote:
1. Check in wincmd.ini in the section for your screen resolution (e.g. [1920x1080... ) for the line btmDY= what value does it show?
2. Try menu Commands - Background transfer manager: Can you resize the window so it shows more than the title?
3. Can you now add the rar to it with F5 - F2 without causing a crash?
Thanks!
You wrote:
Could you please:I've noticed there's a background window just with the top row of buttons
1. Check in wincmd.ini in the section for your screen resolution (e.g. [1920x1080... ) for the line btmDY= what value does it show?
2. Try menu Commands - Background transfer manager: Can you resize the window so it shows more than the title?
3. Can you now add the rar to it with F5 - F2 without causing a crash?
Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com