This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Lister: custom font size ignored

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
browny
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:58 am    Post subject: Lister: custom font size ignored Reply with quote

Windows 8.1 or 10, TC 9.12 64-bit.
In Lister, select Options - Configure... - ANSI
By default it was Fixedsys, Regular, 10; and that was the only size.
Enter a bigger value in the entry field for the size, press OK.
For example, 14 gives a clear distinction.
Now when openting files in Lister there could be either the default 10 or the new 14.

Here is a small archive with two files for the test.
Binary difference between the files is evident.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6049
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed. Lister uses the exact same font settings, including size, for both files in the archive (TC 9.12 x64 on Win7 x64). Try to reproduce it with a clean wincmd.ini.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7794
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not confirmed either. The two files looks the same in Lister when ANSI is set to use Fixedsys. FixedSys only comes in one size, so there should not be any difference, no matter what size you write in the size field in the font setting dialog.

BTW, on all my systems 9 is the default and only available size for the fixedsys font - not 10.

BTW2, you sample file size10 is UTF-8 encoded, while your size14 file is not.

Could you maby provide some screenshots that illustrates your observation?
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
browny
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
Lister uses the exact same font settings, including size

How exact same goes together with not confirmed?
It was expected the sizes to be different.

Please try to add the following line to the [Lister] section (possibly, any code page number will do), then view the sample files again in the Lister:
Code:
Codepage=1258

Or select Encoding from the main menu.

Here are the screenshots (where 10 in caption should have been renamed to 9, but for this report it does not matter what exactly was the default).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3351
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it looks like MS Windows uses its fallback mechanism here.

In general it is meant for cases where a document uses a font which is not available on your windows installation.
Windows just substitutes the font with one that is similar to the missing one.

The fixedsys font is a raster font, which means it is not sizable.
In your case you set a font with a size which is not available => Windows substitutes it.
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6049
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

browny wrote:
How exact same goes together with not confirmed?
It was expected the sizes to be different.

Lister uses the exact font settings I specify for both files, regardless of font name and size. If I set Fixedsys size 10, then Lister uses Fixedsys size 10. If I set Fixedsys size 24 then Lister uses that. If I set Courier New size 22 then Lister will use that. Again: for both files.

Here's what it looks like with Courier New size 22. Don't take the image file name too seriously; although it says TC 8.52a (and it indeed shows that version) I checked it in TC 9.12 x64 - the result is the same.

Quote:
Please try to add the following line to the [Lister] section (possibly, any code page number will do), then view the sample files again in the Lister:
Code:
Codepage=1258

Why should I? Lister is able to detect the codepage from the files' contents, and it does even in this case since one of your files is shown as UTF-8 while the other is not.

Quote:
Here are the screenshots (where 10 in caption should have been renamed to 9, but for this report it does not matter what exactly was the default).

Lister obviously uses a monospace font for only one of the files. It's a completely different font for the two, not just the size.Take a look at Lister's Options menu to see if one of the files is shown as ASCII or something. And try changing all three fonts to find out which one is used.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
browny
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sqa_wizard wrote:
Well, it looks like MS Windows uses its fallback mechanism here.

Of course it does.

But there is a catch.
With some files after changing font size in Lister's Options the text is displayed in enlarged font. Exit lister, open the same file again - it would be in small font size. Enter Options - Configure... and press OK without doing anyting else, and the font size magically gets enlarged as before.
You could try it with size10 file.


Last edited by browny on Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
browny
Member
Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
Why should I? Lister is able to detect the codepage from the files' contents, and it does even in this case since one of your files is shown as UTF-8 while the other is not.

What would be the reasons for the existence of big Encoding menu?
Lister can only try to guess codepage. Especially when there is no BOM.

Dalai wrote:
Take a look at Lister's Options menu to see if one of the files is shown as ASCII or something.
Both are ANSI; but one is Text, another one UTF-8.
As if for UTF-8 Lister ignores custom font size (and Encoding menu gets disabled, by the way).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7794
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There seem to be two kind of substituting taking place - one if another encoding is chosen than the default for the font (here 1258 in stead of 1252) - and another one if the size is chosen too much bigger than default.

If I choose encoding 1252 (or "As configured for current Font") - I see the normal Fixedsys font for sizes up to 17, but when I chose size 18, the font is suddenly remarkably enlarged - but looks like an enlarged raster font with uneven edges. ( http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/listerfont1.png )

On the other hand if I set the size to 11 and change the encoding to 1255 the font changes to a much thinner and smoother font, which is obviously not Fixedsys. ( http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/listerfont2.png )

Another observation (still with encoding set to 1255) - If I set the ANSI font to default by chosing the "default" checkbox and click the font button the selected font in the Font setting dialog is shown as: Fixedsys, regular, 11. ( http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/listerfont3.png )

But If I then click the OK-button in the Font setting dialog and close Listers settings dialog the font is now shown as a thin vector font with this "manual" setting that suposedly should be the same as the setting when using the "default" option in Listers settings. ( http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/listerfont4.png ).
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group