This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cursor jump after view Properties of same named file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:22 am    Post subject: Cursor jump after view Properties of same named file Reply with quote

To reproduce:
1. Copy some file to following locations:
%$Desktop%
%$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY%
2. Open virtual desktop location, e.g. using cm_OpenDesktop internal command.
You'll see your 2 same named files in one virtual location - \\Desktop.
3. Put cursor and press Alt+Enter on one same named file which is below, then close opened Properties window e.g. using Esc key:
cursor will jump to one same named file which is at the top of file list.

Note: This issue is not applied to same named items in one folder of real filesystem (at least for example case discussed here): there TC won't show Explorer's Properties Window for same named items.

Edit: made more clear step 1 to reproduce the bug.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35712
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, TC cannot distinuguish between the two when positioning the cursor, because the two names are the same.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ghisler(Author)
Names are the same, but maybe you can use some other (maybe internal) criteria so TC will know to what item cursor should return after closing File Properties dialog (if user didn't manually put cursor on any another item while the File Properties dialog was open - then it should stay on that another item)?

On Windows' Desktop, or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop), focus doesn't jump to another same named file after closing File Properties dialog.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6046
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2DrShark
Quote:
or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop)

%UserProfile%\Desktop is NOT a virtual folder! It's a directory on your disk, not a virtual view of something, and certainly a view not of more than one directory - as opposed to the Windows desktop itself (\\Desktop in TC). Simple test: Create some file in %$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY% and check if you see the file in %UserProfile%\Desktop (tip: you won't).

BTW: Same applies to %$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY% (which is %Public%\Desktop directory).

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
Quote:
or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop)

%UserProfile%\Desktop is NOT a virtual folder!
In Explorer, if such path entered in Start->Run, it opens virtual Desktop folder (at least here on Vista, see http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php?title=Sandbox/Explorer_and_TC:_paths_to_Desktop for details)
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6046
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2DrShark
True (although I didn't know that), but it's still not a virtual folder. Type %UserProfile%\Desktop in Explorer's address bar, in a CMD window or Explorer++, and it won't open the virtual folder but go to the user's Desktop directory.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used such way to open virtual Desktop in that post because it's more quick then to navigate there from Computer virutal location.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Sorry, TC cannot distinuguish between the two when positioning the cursor, because the two names are the same.
Why moved to "Behaviour which will not be changed"? Is it really impossible? I mentioned Explorer where there is no such a cursor jump.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35712
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately it's currently impossible, sorry.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

history920.txt wrote:
07.05.18 Fixed: Selection was always lost in virtual folders like the Desktop when switching away from TC and back, even when nothing changed (32/64)
It seems you found a way to detect file system changes on \\Desktop, so now even without noreread=: TC doesn't refresh it after a switch from TC window, which means not only selection isn't lost on TC's window focus return, but cursor doesn't jump too.
Actually, cursor jump in TC caused by a list refresh, and in Explorer after refresh cursor jumps too, so on TC side the issue as described in first post may be considered as fixed (of course it will be great if for future versions you'll find a way to restore cursor location after refresh too).
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35712
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did, but only if nothing at all changes...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Behaviour which will not be changed All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group