Cursor jump after view Properties of same named file

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Cursor jump after view Properties of same named file

Post by *DrShark » 2018-03-13, 16:22 UTC

To reproduce:
1. Copy some file to following locations:
%$Desktop%
%$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY%
2. Open virtual desktop location, e.g. using cm_OpenDesktop internal command.
You'll see your 2 same named files in one virtual location - \\Desktop.
3. Put cursor and press Alt+Enter on one same named file which is below, then close opened Properties window e.g. using Esc key:
cursor will jump to one same named file which is at the top of file list.

Note: This issue is not applied to same named items in one folder of real filesystem (at least for example case discussed here): there TC won't show Explorer's Properties Window for same named items.

Edit: made more clear step 1 to reproduce the bug.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-03-15, 10:48 UTC

Sorry, TC cannot distinuguish between the two when positioning the cursor, because the two names are the same.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-03-16, 20:20 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Names are the same, but maybe you can use some other (maybe internal) criteria so TC will know to what item cursor should return after closing File Properties dialog (if user didn't manually put cursor on any another item while the File Properties dialog was open - then it should stay on that another item)?

On Windows' Desktop, or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop), focus doesn't jump to another same named file after closing File Properties dialog.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6199
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-03-16, 21:25 UTC

2DrShark
or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop)
%UserProfile%\Desktop is NOT a virtual folder! It's a directory on your disk, not a virtual view of something, and certainly a view not of more than one directory - as opposed to the Windows desktop itself (\\Desktop in TC). Simple test: Create some file in %$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY% and check if you see the file in %UserProfile%\Desktop (tip: you won't).

BTW: Same applies to %$COMMON_DESKTOPDIRECTORY% (which is %Public%\Desktop directory).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-03-16, 21:33 UTC

Dalai wrote:
or when Desktop virtual folder opened in Explorer (Start->Run->%userprofile%\Desktop)
%UserProfile%\Desktop is NOT a virtual folder!
In Explorer, if such path entered in Start->Run, it opens virtual Desktop folder (at least here on Vista, see http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php?title=Sandbox/Explorer_and_TC:_paths_to_Desktop for details)
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6199
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2018-03-16, 21:51 UTC

2DrShark
True (although I didn't know that), but it's still not a virtual folder. Type %UserProfile%\Desktop in Explorer's address bar, in a CMD window or Explorer++, and it won't open the virtual folder but go to the user's Desktop directory.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-03-16, 22:04 UTC

I used such way to open virtual Desktop in that post because it's more quick then to navigate there from Computer virutal location.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-05-04, 16:51 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Sorry, TC cannot distinuguish between the two when positioning the cursor, because the two names are the same.
Why moved to "Behaviour which will not be changed"? Is it really impossible? I mentioned Explorer where there is no such a cursor jump.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-06, 09:07 UTC

Unfortunately it's currently impossible, sorry.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2018-05-10, 08:00 UTC

history920.txt wrote:07.05.18 Fixed: Selection was always lost in virtual folders like the Desktop when switching away from TC and back, even when nothing changed (32/64)
It seems you found a way to detect file system changes on \\Desktop, so now even without noreread=: TC doesn't refresh it after a switch from TC window, which means not only selection isn't lost on TC's window focus return, but cursor doesn't jump too.
Actually, cursor jump in TC caused by a list refresh, and in Explorer after refresh cursor jumps too, so on TC side the issue as described in first post may be considered as fixed (of course it will be great if for future versions you'll find a way to restore cursor location after refresh too).
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-10, 15:19 UTC

Yes I did, but only if nothing at all changes...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply