TC changes pinned tabs when not accessible on startup

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
TTC98
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-03-02, 06:12 UTC

TC changes pinned tabs when not accessible on startup

Post by *TTC98 » 2018-03-02, 06:24 UTC

I have the following issue with TC 9.12

I have pinned a tab containing a directory on a network drive however the login data to the network drive is not saved and so I have to re-connect it by entering my credentials every time I reboot the pc.

Now every time I start TC while on of the windows is on one of those pinned tabs, it changes to directory to c:\.

For example: I close TC on the Tab "Users" which is pinned to network drive S:\Users, then the next time I reboot the pc and start TC, it will have a pinned tab C:\.

This means I have to repin and rename the desired directory after every reboot.

However if after a reboot I SWITCH to one of the pinned tabs on a disconnected network drive, then TC will show the Windows login prompt and correctly load the directory.

SOLUTION: This login prompt should also be shown if an open directory on STARTUP is on a disconnected network drive.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3036
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2018-03-02, 08:03 UTC

Thats not a bug and at least for me wanted behaviour.
There is no need for pinned TC entries as one can use the Dir hotlist for it.
Also I don't want a delayed TC start to enter network dirs I may not want
on every start-up.
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.254)
TC 9.21a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.910 (x64)

TTC98
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-03-02, 06:12 UTC

Post by *TTC98 » 2018-03-02, 08:19 UTC

For very commonly used directories using pinned tabs is quicker and more efficient.

Also accessing network directories doesn't have to delay startup time if implemented correctly.

The way I see it pinning tabs means that I want TC to remember them because they are important. However with the current behaviour TC "deletes" them.

It would be acceptable if TC simply switches to a different tab or creates a new tab with C:\ but modifiying a pinned tab in such a way is not okay.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-04, 07:57 UTC

You can now tell TC 9.20 (beta 1 and newer) to ignore such read errors:
wincmd.ini
[Configuration]
IgnoreDirErrors=1

Please try it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply