This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[64bit] PreloadThumbnails=2 not working in branch view

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7665
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 5:40 pm    Post subject: [64bit] PreloadThumbnails=2 not working in branch view Reply with quote

This only applies to the 64bit version of TC, but also applies to older versions like TC 9.12 and TC 8.52a

To reproduce:
1. Set PreloadThumbnails=2 and restart TC
2. In Full view with name sorting enter a folder that has several subfolders with image files, preferably 100 in each subdir.
3. Press Ctrl+B to enter branch view
4. Shift to thumbnail mode
5. Thumbnails ar loading, and keeps loading when you scroll.
6. Change the sorting - direction or type of sorting (size type or date)
7. Thumbnails has stopped loading.
8. Change back to the original name sorting in same direction
9. Already previously shown thumbnails are shown again, but no further loading of thumbnails takes place.

Other settings when testing:
ThumbsLocation=F:\Thumbs
ThumbsCopyDel=1
ThumbOptions=15
ThumbExplTypes=*.avi *.mp4 *.wmv *.mov *.mpeg
ThumbPlgTypes=*.ico *.dll *.icl *.wdp *.thm *.ttf *.fon *.swf *.
ThumbIrfXnTypes=*.*
ThumbTxtTypes=*.txt *.ini *.mnu *.inc *.lng
ThumbsCustomFieldsEnabled=1
ThumbsCustomField=[=tc.writedate.D-M-y] [=tc.size.bkMG]
ThumbWidthNoCache=96
ThumbHeightNoCache=72
ThumbIconSize=32
PreloadThumbnails=2
ThumbnailPrealloc=100000
ThumbnailMemoryLimit=500

Also testet with:
ThumbExplTypes=*.* | *.htm *.html
ThumbPlgTypes=*.*
ThumbIrfXnTypes=*.*
ThumbTxtTypes=*.txt *.ini

Tested with fully updated tcthumbs.db and tcthumbs.idb files and also with blank tcthumbs.db and tcthumbs.idb files.

If I set PreloadThumbnails=1 things works as expected.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b2 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is intentional - when you change the sort order, TC can no longer find which thumbnail requested in the background belongs to which file in the foreground, so it has to stop loading them.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10851
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petermad,
Confirmed. You don't even need to be in Branch view, just in a dir with many images (~1700 in my case).

Christian,
If this was true then it would work like you describe in the 32-bit version, too. However, in the 32-bit version the thumbnails continue loading.

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7665
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If this was true then it would work like you describe in the 32-bit version, too. However, in the 32-bit version the thumbnails continue loading.


Exactly - as I also wrote in my previous post - it is only the 64bit version that stops loading when changing sort mode.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b2 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I didn't notice the difference between 32-bit and 64-bit! Both stop the image extraction, but 32-bit resets the not yet extracted images to "need to be extracted". Therefore they will be extracted when displayed (not pre-loaded). I will fix this in 64-bit too.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10851
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
Great!

Quote:
they will be extracted when displayed (not pre-loaded)

Do I understand right - even if I have PreloadThumbnails=2, after changing the sort order the thumbnails will not be preloaded but only loaded when scrolled into view? If yes, why? Please make them preload regardless of sort order change (even if it would mean extracting all thumbnails again from the beginning).

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you understand it correctly: When you change the sort order, you abort the background loading of thumbnails.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10851
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
So, if I want the preloading to continue, I have to switch to Brief/Full view and back to Thumbnail view? That is a bit inconvenient. Couldn't the preloading continue (or at least restart) automatically?

TIA
Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have added this now in beta 3!
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10851
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian,
Seems to work fine for me, thank you!

Roman
_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7665
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works fine for me too in TC 9.20b3 Smile
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b2 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC Fixed bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group