FS-plugin: VirtualDisk

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, sheep, white, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by Flint » 2012-12-11, 08:55 UTC

rainer.wendland
I'm not sure. There is another open source project ImDisk, but I did not look into it. In any case, even if it emulates physical device, changing the plugin to use another driver would require too much effort.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by Balderstrom » 2012-12-11, 21:51 UTC

Pismo Mount Audit package can mount iso's among a slew of other things
1) Zip a folder, e.g. a huge game; Mount the Zip file as a folder
---> Files can be changed when mounted.
2) Create a PismoMountFolder, mount it as an unlimited RAM drive.
---> When unmounted changed contents are preserved.
3) Mount an iso.

Among other uses.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by icfu » 2013-09-30, 21:16 UTC

@Flint:
Any chance for a plugin version which has read-only mode flag set by default? I just managed to nuke my first image file. Got a backup though... ;)
This account is for sale

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by Flint » 2013-09-30, 22:05 UTC

icfu
This plugin is just one of numerous ways for accessing/modifying image files. Defaulting it to read-only would only annoy users, but won't prevent corrupting the image by any other means (like hex editors, delete operations or even other image mount applications). I think, in your situation it is better to set read-only attribute to the image itself: then attempt to mount it in read-write mode will simply fail (and it will also give the image additional protection from other accidental modifications and removal).
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by icfu » 2013-10-11, 14:29 UTC

but won't prevent corrupting the image by any other means (like hex editors, delete operations or even other image mount applications)
If it's mounted read-only it can still be modified? Interesting, didn't know that.
I think, in your situation it is better to set read-only attribute to the image itself
This will do for old images at least. For new ones I have to remind myself.

Thanks.
This account is for sale

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3141
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by Flint » 2013-10-11, 14:59 UTC

icfu wrote:If it's mounted read-only it can still be modified? Interesting, didn't know that.
I didn't mean modifying it after mounting via VirtualDisk but working with the image file itself using other applications: direct editing in hex editors, mounting with other image mouting tools, or even accidental overwriting by another file when copying.
icfu wrote:This will do for old images at least. For new ones I have to remind myself.
As well as remind yourself to avoid corrupting it by any other way except VirtualDisk. If you wish you can use some external script to set this checkbox automatically as soon as the dialog is opened, I won't put any obstacles to that (consciously, at least). In the meantime I'll think about adding a global option for preferring read-only mounting by default, but I cannot promise anything yet.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.20rc2 / Win7 x32 & x64 SP1

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by icfu » 2013-10-11, 23:36 UTC

Totally got you wrong then... Sorry. Indeed I was only talking about mounting in TC, not other applications.
In the meantime I'll think about adding a global option for preferring read-only mounting by default, but I cannot promise anything yet.
Thanks, maybe you'll find the time. Until then AHK. ;)
This account is for sale

wwj402
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-06-25, 13:36 UTC

Post by wwj402 » 2015-06-27, 11:43 UTC

; About box
57=Ok

cannt translate?

kes
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2007-08-03, 03:10 UTC

Post by kes » 2015-12-13, 05:31 UTC

Flint wrote:Forumposter
I really like this plugin, but it does not seem to work with DVDDecrypter (
I often mount DVD Isos so I can load them into DVDDecrypter as drive to rip the DVD as it would be inserted in my DVD-Rom.
The TC Drives do not appear in DVDDecrypter, please fit that.
I didn't use this tool, but as you describe it, it seems that DVDDecrypter reads the system list of the devices, not of the logical drives. Sorry, but at present such programs cannot see the new drive created by the plugin. It is planned for the future, but I still don't have enough time to find out how to make it... :(
:(
And it still does not work with dvddecrypter or imgburn. Shame.

Olfert
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 2006-05-17, 10:55 UTC

windows 10 support?

Post by Olfert » 2018-05-18, 19:29 UTC

Does Virtualdisk work with Windows 10 (64bit)?

thomasmolover
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: 2016-12-12, 01:32 UTC

Re: windows 10 support?

Post by thomasmolover » 2018-05-18, 19:33 UTC

Olfert wrote:Does Virtualdisk work with Windows 10 (64bit)?

Yes, it CAN, I use it always

Post Reply