Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-15, 09:15 UTC

Hi,
TC 9.22a x64, Windows 10 v1803 x64.

Put cursor on a file, Ctrl-Q to activate Quick View, Shift-F6 to rename the file, Down to start renaming the next file, but Quick View still shows the contents of the previous file. Could Quick View be updated when moving between files while renaming? It would be useful for renaming files based on their contents shown in Quick View.

TIA
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3384
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-06-15, 12:12 UTC

I cant see such problem here.
After the rename Quick view always show the file under the cursor.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.295)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-15, 12:25 UTC

Horst.Epp,
Ctrl-Q, Shift-F6, Down?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3384
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-06-15, 13:02 UTC

Hacker wrote:
2019-06-15, 12:25 UTC
Horst.Epp,
Ctrl-Q, Shift-F6, Down?

Roman
I see :oops:
For me its rather not logical to work that way.
I use quick view until I find a file to rename and after doing that it goes on with the next file correctly.
So I will not start to rename but try to rename the next file.
I guess Christion may not be able to detect that change and update the Quick view in this case.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.295)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-06-17, 14:00 UTC

If you just press Down to rename, the current file in the list itself isn't changed. Therefore quick view isn't updated either.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-17, 19:33 UTC

Christian,
Well then, could this be changed, please? Is there anything to be said against it?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37495
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-06-18, 10:39 UTC

The list is actually updated when
- you change the name before you press cursor down
or
- when you press ESC after cursor down.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-18, 18:39 UTC

Christian,
Well, I would like for the Quick View to be updated, not the list (the list is being updated just fine).

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *tuska » 2019-06-19, 11:28 UTC

2Hacker

Example
1    Left window active
1.1 Press Strg+Q - Quick View Panel --> Image is displayed in the other window
1.2 Rename file AND press down arrow -> File name without extension is marked and the new image is displayed in the right window.
1.3 Rename file AND press down arrow -> File name without extension is marked and the new image is displayed in the right window.

In those cases where the image is not to be renamed, the ESC key must be pressed,
otherwise the image display in the right window will not be updated for the next image after cursor up/down.
Shift+F6 must be pressed again in those cases for a further renaming.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-19, 18:10 UTC

tuska,
Rename file AND press down arrow -> File name without extension is marked and the new image is displayed in the right window.
That is definitely not what happens here with a fresh.ini. The file name with the extension is marked and the old image (of the file where I first pressed Shift-F6) is still shown in Quick View.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *tuska » 2019-06-20, 11:02 UTC

2Hacker
Mmhh, that's weird.

A test with TC_clean_x64.ini (TC 9.22a) only produced the following different results to the above:
1. The file name with the extension is marked
2. After renaming file and pressing down arrow the new image is displayed in the right window by Lister(!)
   (... instead of a plugin in the "real" TC ...)

Another test with TC_clean_x64.ini:
1.  left window active
2.  cursor on filename1
3.  Press Ctrl+Q - Quick View Panel --> Image is displayed in the other window by Lister
4.  Shift+F6 (file name and extension will be marked)
5.  rename file (and then press 6. cursor down - NOT <enter>)
6.  cursor down
7.  filename2 is marked (filename and extension)
8.  in the right window the preview for file name2 is displayed
9.  rename file
10. cursor down
11. filename3 is marked (filename and extension)
12. in the right window the preview for file name3 is displayed
13. rename file
14. cursor down

Filename4 should NOT be renamed.
15. filename4 is marked (filename and extension)
16. press ESC key
17. cursor down

Filename5 is to be renamed.
18. cursor is on filename5
19. in the right window the preview for file name5 is displayed
20. Shift+F6 (file name and extension will be marked)
21. rename file
22. cursor down
23. filename6 is marked (filename and extension)
24. in the right window the preview for file name6 is displayed (in the Lister)

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *tuska » 2019-06-20, 14:20 UTC

Hacker wrote:
2019-06-19, 18:10 UTC
tuska,
Rename file AND press down arrow -> File name without extension is marked and the new image is displayed in the right window.
That is definitely not what happens here with a fresh.ini. The file name with the extension is marked and the old image (of the file where I first pressed Shift-F6) is still shown in Quick View.

Roman
However, I can confirm this behaviour for TC 32 bit.
Only 32 bit version does not update Quick View.

So TC 64 bit and TC 32 bit work differently in this use.

Regards,
Karl

Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.175)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.4OGHz, 16 GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64/x86 | Everything - Version 1.4.1.944 (x64)

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-20, 21:21 UTC

tuska,
I am testing with TC x64 9.22a.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *tuska » 2019-06-21, 13:22 UTC

Hacker wrote:
2019-06-20, 21:21 UTC
tuska,
I am testing with TC x64 9.22a.

Roman
My TC_clean_x64.ini / TC 9.22a (after test end) looks like this:
(The folder D:\zTEST-Bilder contains seven .jpg files, all of which have been renamed))

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
UseNewDefFont=1
SetEncoding=äö.do.not.remove
firstmnu=2810
FirstTimeIconLib=0
FirstTime=0
SeparateTree=0
PanelsVertical=0
[FileSystemPlugins64]
$checksum$=3014672
[ButtonbarCache]
IconDll_default.bar=
IconDll_vertical.bar=
[ListerPlugins64]
$checksum$=3014672
[left]
path=d:\zTEST-Bilder\
ViewMode=10001
activepanelcolor=-1
activepanelcolor2=-1
ShowAllDetails=1
SpecialView=0
show=1
sortorder=0
negative Sortorder=0
[right]
path=c:\
ViewMode=10001
activepanelcolor=-1
activepanelcolor2=-1
ShowAllDetails=1
SpecialView=0
show=1
sortorder=0
negative Sortorder=0
[RightHistory]
0=c:\
[LeftHistory]
0=d:\zTEST-Bilder\
1=d:\	#26,zTEST-Bilder
2=d:\zTEST\
3=d:\	#19,zTEST
4=c:\
and the behaviour of the TC 9.22a, 64 bit version by me is the same as described above by me.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11249
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Shift-F6, Down, does not update Quick View

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-21, 14:12 UTC

tuska,
What if you use simple text files?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

Post Reply