Need to unbind F8 -- How?

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 04:48 UTC

How do I unbind the current F8 key binding?

I've searched and not found joy.

I lost a day's work when I hit F8 thinking it was F6.

Warm Regards,
Mark.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
nsp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1213
Joined: 2005-12-04, 08:39 UTC
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)
Contact:

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *nsp » 2019-08-26, 06:36 UTC

Not possible to unmap default command !
You can anyhow remap F8 to a user command that do not delete data.
Ex:
Define a new user command (usercmd.ini) like em_cd_dot
command: cd
parameters: .

---
If you lost your work, it is more because you do not read messages and/or changed default behaviour of delete ;)

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2615
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-08-26, 07:37 UTC

Because it was to dangerous for me to press F8 by accident in a darker environment,
I changed F8 to another command long ago too.

wincmd.ini
[Shortcuts]
;Disable 'F8' (Delete), load Help instead
F8=cm_Keyboard


:D

 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 09:37 UTC

nsp wrote:
2019-08-26, 06:36 UTC
... If you lost your work, it is more because you do not read messages and/or changed default behaviour of delete ;)
Howdy. I want to give you the rational reason because you care enough to respond to me.

When I F6, for example, I get the confirmation and automatically, by reflex, allow the move to go ahead. When I selected a bunch of files and accidentally hit F8 instead of F6, well of course I automatically allowed the delete to go ahead because, 1, I didn't realize that I'd made a mistake and that it was a delete, and 2, I automatically allowed it because ...well, that's what I do, and 3, it was supposed to be a move, which is always reversable. That particular drive has trash turned off because it's a work drive and because I incrementally back it up nearly every day and I don't want to spend an inordinate amount of time emptying the trash all the time. This explanation is probably not really needed because you probably operate in the same manner. So, if I automatically, by reflex, allow F6 to go ahead, why do I even have that confirmation enabled? Right? Well, I have it enabled just in case I do something that shouldn't require the allowance, oh, view in the lister, for example, and, instead, I get a confirmation dialog. The confirmation dialog is unexpected, so I look at what's going on and realize I'd hit F6 instead of F3. So the confirmation dialog is there just to protect me, to act like a break in the event I make a mistake. When I expect the confirmation, I allow it by reflex. If the confirmation shows up when it's not expected, I stop because I know I'm about to do something wrong (unexpected). I hope you understand -- and this has probably been a much-too-long explanation.

I've been using TC for 20 years. The other day was the first time I accidentally hit F8 instead of F6. That's not bad, 20 faultless years, but I want to prevent it in the future. I've trained myself to always delete file(s) via the DEL key. I didn't even realize that F8 was delete. In 20 years of almost continuous use of TC, I never used F8. Now, I want to kill it.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 09:55 UTC

Stefan2 wrote:
2019-08-26, 07:37 UTC
... wincmd.ini
[Shortcuts]
;Disable 'F8' (Delete), load Help instead
F8=cm_Keyboard
It didn't work, Stefan.

I saw that 'wincmd.ini' held state information, so I closed TC before proceeding.
I opened 'wincmd.ini' for editing, pasted your submission (all 3 lines), and saved.
I launched TC, highlighted a file and hit F8.
I got the delete confirmation. Your fix didn't work.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2615
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-08-26, 10:35 UTC

MarkFilipak wrote:
2019-08-26, 09:55 UTC
I opened 'wincmd.ini' for editing, pasted your submission (all 3 lines), and saved.

Probably, you had already a section " [Shortcuts] " in your wincmd.ini ?

Be sure to reuse the already existing "[Shortcuts]" section and don't create another one.


Or use the Menu
Configuration > Options... > Misc. >>> Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)
F8
cm_Keyboard



Did that helped?
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37629
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-08-26, 13:49 UTC

The best command which does almost nothing would be
cm_rereadsource
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8488
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *petermad » 2019-08-26, 17:55 UTC

I use this external command to do nothing:

Code: Select all

[em_donothing]
cmd=CM_WAIT 0
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 22:19 UTC

Stefan2 wrote:
2019-08-26, 10:35 UTC
MarkFilipak wrote:
2019-08-26, 09:55 UTC
I opened 'wincmd.ini' for editing, pasted your submission (all 3 lines), and saved.
Probably, you had already a section " [Shortcuts] " in your wincmd.ini ?
Nope.
Or use the Menu
Configuration > Options... > Misc. >>> Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)
F8
cm_Keyboard
Well, in my TC, 'Configuration' 'Misc' 'Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)' doesn't list function keys.
Did that helped?
No cigar, Stefan.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 22:23 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-08-26, 13:49 UTC
The best command which does almost nothing would be
cm_rereadsource
Good tip, Christian, but I can't get cm_Keyboard to work, so I don't think cm_rereadsource will work, either.
Last edited by MarkFilipak on 2019-08-27, 19:35 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2615
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-08-26, 22:26 UTC

MarkFilipak wrote:
2019-08-26, 22:19 UTC
Well, in my TC, 'Configuration' 'Misc' 'Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)' doesn't list function keys.
Sure it do :D

Take a closer look, it's the wider drop-down menu on the right.



But before, remove your pasted in "[Shortcuts]" section, just in case.
Me think the order is not important, but "[Configuration]" is usually always on the top of the INI.


 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 22:47 UTC

Stefan2 wrote:
2019-08-26, 22:26 UTC
MarkFilipak wrote:
2019-08-26, 22:19 UTC
Well, in my TC, 'Configuration' 'Misc' 'Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)' doesn't list function keys.
Sure it do :D

Take a closer look, it's the wider drop-down menu on the right.
Oh, you're right. I thought that drop-down applied only to "Control +" and "Alt +" ... (none of which I'm choosing).
Okay, I've selected F8 in the drop-down. Now what?

TC help says this: "Shows a list of currently defined hotkeys. Choose one to edit it. To remove a hotkey, choose it, then click on the magnifying glass and chose the very first option (Predefined command)."

Magnifying glass?
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 23:24 UTC

Okay, got it. And it works.

I couldn't see that the drop-down had any application because it's grayed out.
I couldn't see a magnifying glass because it's smaller than the inside of a lower case "o". Also, it is grayed out, too.

My 17 inch laptop display is 3840x2160. Text is scaled up, but the magnifying glass is too small to see. That it's also grayed out (?) doesn't help.

Thanks for the help.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 23:32 UTC

One final thing.

Where does TC save the hotkey mapping (F8=cm_rereadsource)? I'd like to save a copy of that file in case I need to reinstall TC following a Windows restore.

Regards,
Mark.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

User avatar
MarkFilipak
Member
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 2008-09-28, 01:00 UTC
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

Re: Need to unbind F8 -- How?

Post by *MarkFilipak » 2019-08-26, 23:56 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-08-26, 13:49 UTC
The best command which does almost nothing would be
cm_rereadsource
Actually, Christian, I like 'cm_Sysinfo' better. If the currnet panel shows a USB drive that's sleeping, 'cm_rereadsource' wakes the drive and causes a delay. The obvious thing is to create 'cm_ignore'.
Hi Christian! Delighted customer since 1999. License #37627

Post Reply