Off-topic- need a new programming editor..

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Aquineas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-10-17, 16:10 UTC

Off-topic- need a new programming editor..

Post by *Aquineas »

I've been happily using Multiedit for my code development for nine years or so, having switched to it from Boxer for OS/2 when I switched from DOS/OS/2 to Windows development (before that, I used Brief, which sadly, was purchased by Borland and then promptly killed so they could waste untold number of dollars buying Ashton-Tate. Buying Ashton-Tate was the first step in Borland's demise).

Well, I fear the time has come to switch again, as it seems Multiedit has given no indication of plans to correctly support the #region keyword in C#. The #region keyword is very useful when doing C# development, and not supporting it puts me at a disadvantage when coding in it as opposed to the native Visual Studio environment (which is terrible as an editing environment). What I'm looking for is this:
  • Must support brief command map
  • Must support #region keyworkd in C#
  • Must be customizable and extensible by file type
  • Must be fast
  • Doesn't necessarily have to integrate with an IDE, I've yet to see any editor do this well anyway
  • Preferrably is cheap (under $150 USD)
Thanks in advance.
Lord, please help me be the person my dog thinks I am..
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9537
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2Aquineas
Do you know ReSharper? It's not a standalone program just an addin for Visual Studio to make it much more powerful. If you already own the Visual Studio you should take a look at it. A free demo is available. The full version is at about 100$.
User avatar
CopyCats
Member
Member
Posts: 195
Joined: 2003-02-05, 13:09 UTC
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by *CopyCats »

Aquineas,

How about Boxer/10 for Windows?

* Comes with Brief and many other keyboard layouts
* Highly customizable and extensible by file type
* Fast! (see it execute some macros!)
* Flexible and powerful
* You won't miss an IDE
* Is only $59.99

If by support for the region keyword in C you mean an automatic folding mechanism, it doesn't have that built in yet, but I believe a user created a macro to accomplish that (see user group at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/boxer, search for 'folding').
#5050 :: Everyone who believes in telekinesis, raise my hand!
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2Aquineas
What exactly do you mean by "Must support #region keyword in C#" ?
In what way can an Editor support a keyword other than auto indent, syntax highlighting, auto expand etc?
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
Aquineas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-10-17, 16:10 UTC

Post by *Aquineas »

SanskritFritz wrote:2Aquineas
What exactly do you mean by "Must support #region keyword in C#" ?
In what way can an Editor support a keyword other than auto indent, syntax highlighting, auto expand etc?
Well, Visual Studio "folds", either collapsing or expanding a region to display or hide the contents as requested. When a region is collapsed, the editor will display a little "+" sign (like a treeview control). Basically, a "folding" text editor. It allows you to organize the code for better reading...
Lord, please help me be the person my dog thinks I am..
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

I see. The only (free) folding editor I know of, is SciTe and similar projects, based on Scintilla. Scintilla is configurable, so even if it does not support the #region keyword by default, it can be configured. Don't ask me how though, I dont use Scite.
I dont think MultiEdit supports folding at all?
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
woefdram
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-05-16, 11:14 UTC

Post by *woefdram »

Scite has a builtin C# language mode which implies syntax highlighting and probably folding and perhaps even configuring the interpreter/compiler so that you can edit and test run your programs from within the editor. You can also configure it to run a language help file. I use it mainly for Python development and I love it!
Another free (open source) editor that has syntax highlighting and folding is JEdit, it also has a C# language mode and many plugins, mostly geared towards Java though, as it is written in that language.
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2woefdram
Thanks for the info!
Even more offtopic: how can I force Scite to remember its window position? This is one of the most annoying problems i have with it.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
woefdram
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-05-16, 11:14 UTC

Post by *woefdram »

I think you can only set its initial position and width/height.
Oh and here's the link to JEdit
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2woefdram
I think you can only set its initial position and width/height.
That is good enough for me, PLEASE TELL ME HOW :-)
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
User avatar
klsgfx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: 2003-11-21, 14:40 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *klsgfx »

SanskritFritz wrote:2woefdram
I think you can only set its initial position and width/height.
That is good enough for me, PLEASE TELL ME HOW :-)
If I am allowed to answer:
In SciTEGlobal.properties-file ( which resides in the scite-folder) somewhere at the beginning you should find this:

Code: Select all

# Window sizes and visibility
if PLAT_WIN
	position.left=0
	position.top=0
if PLAT_GTK
	position.left=5
	position.top=22
position.width=-1
position.height=-1
position.width=-1 and position.height=-1 just stand for maximise, so just change those values to whatever you need. For example position.width=500 and position.height=150 would result in a quite small window :D

Gruß,
Klaus
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2klsgfx
Thanx! Now, that the most annoying part is set aside, i will start using Scite... let's see how far we get...
:-)
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
woefdram
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: 2004-05-16, 11:14 UTC

Post by *woefdram »

And to top it all off, here's how to bind your favourite interpreter/compiler to the "Go" (F5) command and a help file to the help (F1) command in the appropriate langauge.properties file:

Code: Select all

if PLAT_WIN
	command.go.*.py=<path-to-Python>\pythonw -u "$(FileNameExt)"
	command.go.subsystem.*.py=1
	command.go.*.pyw=<path-to-Python>\pythonw -u "$(FileNameExt)"
	command.go.subsystem.*.pyw=1
         command.help.*.py=<path-to-Python>\Doc\Python23.chm
         command.help.subsystem.*.py=2

if PLAT_GTK
	command.go.*.py=python -u $(FileNameExt)
         ... etc...
By the way, this is also in the help file but it may be a little hard to figure it out
Post Reply