Hi,
I'm using the command line option in total commander quite a lot.
For instance to clone a git repository. I use the following command:
- git clone ssh://<something> <directoryname>
The last argument (<directoryname)> is lost.
I could not figure out why this was, because this used to work
yesterday I found out that I can use Shift_return to execute command in separate dos-box, that doesn't close automatically.
There I could see (in the title of the dos-box) that the last argument was not present.
I think this changed from TC 9.5 to 10.00
(with 9.5 this was working fine)
Any reason for this, or how to fix it (from my side?)
(BTW: when i execute the command in a separate dos-box manually (the same command as in command-line from within TC) it works perfectly)
Thanks in advance,
Erik
Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
Last edited by emakaay on 2022-08-17, 21:19 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
I tried
git clone ssh://test c:\test
and got an error from git:
fatal: destination path 'c:\test' already exists and is not an empty directory.
So the parameter does get passed to git here from the TC command line.
I'm on Windows 11 and tried with TC 32-bit and 64-bit.
Maybe there is a git.bat in the path which only handles one parameter? Does it work when you change git to git.exe?
Also what does the '7' do at the end of your command? I assume that it's just a typo?
git clone ssh://test c:\test
and got an error from git:
fatal: destination path 'c:\test' already exists and is not an empty directory.
So the parameter does get passed to git here from the TC command line.
I'm on Windows 11 and tried with TC 32-bit and 64-bit.
Maybe there is a git.bat in the path which only handles one parameter? Does it work when you change git to git.exe?
Also what does the '7' do at the end of your command? I assume that it's just a typo?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
Re: Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
Lately I ran into the same kind of error. It appeared that I was not the owner of the target directory; when I changed it to an existing directory of which I am the owner everything went OK to get the files from git.
Re: Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
Note I didn't add an absolute path name, just the name of the directory to be generated. Like: git clone ssh://test test. If the test subdirectory doesn't exists it should create the clone in that directory(when it doesn't exists). When it exists it is normal it will not be executed.
Sorry about the 7 character it shouldn't have been there.
I did replace git with git.cmd, git.bat, but that didn't work at all. Only git.exe worked, but still the clone was not created in the given subdirectory.
So I don't think my git command is captured by a script it batchfile.
Using TC 10.00 64 bit in Windows 10
Sorry about the 7 character it shouldn't have been there.
I did replace git with git.cmd, git.bat, but that didn't work at all. Only git.exe worked, but still the clone was not created in the given subdirectory.
So I don't think my git command is captured by a script it batchfile.
Using TC 10.00 64 bit in Windows 10
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Last parameter of command line argument ignored/deleted
It means that the current directory is different from what you expect. When using git.bat, can you try printing the current directory with the command
cd
without parameters?
cd
without parameters?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com