Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2023-04-18, 12:39 UTC
Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
i'm not sure if this is a bug or intetnional ehavior.
I'm using my own deployment system for deploying applications, which uses WMI to query what is already installed.
TCMD seems to ignore WMI listing, it is not detectable this way. Try yourself with this powershell command:
get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product |ft name, version
Also, I did not find TCMD in common registry branches that are usualy used for installed program detection:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
OS: Windows 2019 STD,Windows 10 Pro 22H2
TCMD Ver. 10.52 64bit
Is there proper way to detect total commander is installed, including version?
I'm using my own deployment system for deploying applications, which uses WMI to query what is already installed.
TCMD seems to ignore WMI listing, it is not detectable this way. Try yourself with this powershell command:
get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product |ft name, version
Also, I did not find TCMD in common registry branches that are usualy used for installed program detection:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
OS: Windows 2019 STD,Windows 10 Pro 22H2
TCMD Ver. 10.52 64bit
Is there proper way to detect total commander is installed, including version?
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
In my experience TC registers itself like any other (native Win32) program in one of the Registry keys you mentioned. Otherwise Windows' "Add/Remove programs" Control Panel thing could not list TC as installed; not sure about the Settings app in Win10+ though.
If you installed TC as a user, i.e. not as administrator, then TC might register itself in HKCU\...\Uninstall key instead of the HKLM one. However, this is only possible if UAC is disabled since the TC setup files are executed as "highestAvailable" which automatically triggers a UAC prompt if UAC is enabled.
Regards
Dalai
If you installed TC as a user, i.e. not as administrator, then TC might register itself in HKCU\...\Uninstall key instead of the HKLM one. However, this is only possible if UAC is disabled since the TC setup files are executed as "highestAvailable" which automatically triggers a UAC prompt if UAC is enabled.
Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64
Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64
Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
Hi and welcome.
Maybe it depends what you're up to, but TC doesn't need to be installed at all, one just can unpack the archive and use it.
nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-18, 12:52 UTC Is there proper way to detect total commander is installed, including version?
Maybe it depends what you're up to, but TC doesn't need to be installed at all, one just can unpack the archive and use it.
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
Neither a bug, nor intentional behaviour.i'm not sure if this is a bug or intetnional ehavior.
Win32_Product only shows MSI installations (Windows Installer)
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2023-04-18, 12:39 UTC
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not. This must be done programatically, not by looking to control panel. Portable installs are not an option.
Why?
- I use very custom deployment tool, which installs programs whhen they are not installed in required version. If all conditions are not met (= program installed) it will start installation again in one hour until all checks are green.
- Having trace of installed programs is must have, especially for licensing purposes.
Why?
- I use very custom deployment tool, which installs programs whhen they are not installed in required version. If all conditions are not met (= program installed) it will start installation again in one hour until all checks are green.
- Having trace of installed programs is must have, especially for licensing purposes.
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-21, 07:31 UTC The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not. This must be done programatically, not by looking to control panel. Portable installs are not an option.
Why?
- I use very custom deployment tool, which installs programs whhen they are not installed in required version. If all conditions are not met (= program installed) it will start installation again in one hour until all checks are green.
- Having trace of installed programs is must have, especially for licensing purposes.
So use your own marker.
- if you install app X , then write a marker e.g. to HKLM\Software\nocturne-SWdistribution\X=1
Only that way you can control what is installed and what not.
On uninstallation, remove the key entry "X"
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
Then consider changing the subject of your question.nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-21, 07:31 UTC The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not.
Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class
2nocturne.op.15
PowerShell_Windows_InstalledPrograms.ps1:
Total Commander specific:
Image: https://i.imgur.com/6XR32Yt.png
NB
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/scripting/use-powershell-to-find-installed-software/
PowerShell_Windows_InstalledPrograms.ps1:
Code: Select all
Get-ItemProperty "HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\*" | Select-Object DisplayName, DisplayVersion, Publisher, InstallDate | Format-Table -AutoSize
pause
Code: Select all
Get-ItemProperty "HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\*" | Where-Object { $_.Publisher -match 'Ghisler'}| Select-Object DisplayName, DisplayVersion, Publisher, InstallDate | Format-Table -AutoSize
pause
NB
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/scripting/use-powershell-to-find-installed-software/
...
Win32_Product: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
[Good] The Win32_Product WMI class represents products as they are installed by Windows Installer
...
Problem #1: Um, is there a problem, officer?
Querying the Win32_Product class to determine installed software is more than likely not your “best” option. Unfortunately, not everyone knows this.
Solution: (Understanding) Do your part and help spread the word.
Problem #2: Identify better alternatives
...
#278521 User License
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10/15
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10/15