Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
nocturne.op.15
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2023-04-18, 12:39 UTC

Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *nocturne.op.15 »

i'm not sure if this is a bug or intetnional ehavior.

I'm using my own deployment system for deploying applications, which uses WMI to query what is already installed.
TCMD seems to ignore WMI listing, it is not detectable this way. Try yourself with this powershell command:

get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product |ft name, version

Also, I did not find TCMD in common registry branches that are usualy used for installed program detection:

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall


OS: Windows 2019 STD,Windows 10 Pro 22H2
TCMD Ver. 10.52 64bit


Is there proper way to detect total commander is installed, including version?
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9964
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *Dalai »

In my experience TC registers itself like any other (native Win32) program in one of the Registry keys you mentioned. Otherwise Windows' "Add/Remove programs" Control Panel thing could not list TC as installed; not sure about the Settings app in Win10+ though.

If you installed TC as a user, i.e. not as administrator, then TC might register itself in HKCU\...\Uninstall key instead of the HKLM one. However, this is only possible if UAC is disabled since the TC setup files are executed as "highestAvailable" which automatically triggers a UAC prompt if UAC is enabled.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4281
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *Stefan2 »

Hi and welcome.

nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-18, 12:52 UTC Is there proper way to detect total commander is installed, including version?

Maybe it depends what you're up to, but TC doesn't need to be installed at all, one just can unpack the archive and use it.






 
NotNull
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *NotNull »

i'm not sure if this is a bug or intetnional ehavior.
Neither a bug, nor intentional behaviour.
Win32_Product only shows MSI installations (Windows Installer)
nocturne.op.15
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2023-04-18, 12:39 UTC

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *nocturne.op.15 »

The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not. This must be done programatically, not by looking to control panel. Portable installs are not an option.

Why?
- I use very custom deployment tool, which installs programs whhen they are not installed in required version. If all conditions are not met (= program installed) it will start installation again in one hour until all checks are green.
- Having trace of installed programs is must have, especially for licensing purposes.
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4281
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *Stefan2 »

nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-21, 07:31 UTC The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not. This must be done programatically, not by looking to control panel. Portable installs are not an option.

Why?
- I use very custom deployment tool, which installs programs whhen they are not installed in required version. If all conditions are not met (= program installed) it will start installation again in one hour until all checks are green.
- Having trace of installed programs is must have, especially for licensing purposes.

So use your own marker.
- if you install app X , then write a marker e.g. to HKLM\Software\nocturne-SWdistribution\X=1

Only that way you can control what is installed and what not.
On uninstallation, remove the key entry "X"





 
NotNull
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *NotNull »

nocturne.op.15 wrote: 2023-04-21, 07:31 UTC The main goal is to detect whether TCMD is installed or not.
Then consider changing the subject of your question.
User avatar
beb
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 580
Joined: 2009-09-20, 08:03 UTC
Location: Odesa, Ukraine

Re: Total Commander not listed in Win32_Product WMI class

Post by *beb »

2nocturne.op.15

PowerShell_Windows_InstalledPrograms.ps1:

Code: Select all

Get-ItemProperty "HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\*" | Select-Object DisplayName, DisplayVersion, Publisher, InstallDate | Format-Table -AutoSize
pause
Total Commander specific:

Code: Select all

Get-ItemProperty "HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\*" | Where-Object { $_.Publisher -match 'Ghisler'}| Select-Object DisplayName, DisplayVersion, Publisher, InstallDate | Format-Table -AutoSize
pause
Image: https://i.imgur.com/6XR32Yt.png

NB
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/scripting/use-powershell-to-find-installed-software/
...
Win32_Product: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
[Good] The Win32_Product WMI class represents products as they are installed by Windows Installer
...
Problem #1: Um, is there a problem, officer?
Querying the Win32_Product class to determine installed software is more than likely not your “best” option. Unfortunately, not everyone knows this.
Solution: (Understanding) Do your part and help spread the word.
Problem #2: Identify better alternatives
...
#278521 User License
Total Commander [always the latest version, including betas] x86/x64 on Win10 x64/Android 10/15
Post Reply