Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
oko
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 201
Joined: 2007-05-03, 16:22 UTC

Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *oko »

In english language of TC I have noticed couple of "Totalcmd" words occured instead of "Total Commander". When it appears in dialog boxes common user can be confused if it means program Total Commander or some kind of special file named Totalcmd or totalcmd dir or what is Totalcmd?
Items in lng: 5891, 1305, 168, 141.
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4649
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *white »

Agreed that "Totalcmd" should not be used.

Moderator message from: white » 2024-03-17, 10:22 UTC

Moved topic
» from TC suggestions (English) to TC11.x bug reports (English)
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1036
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *MaxX »

I think, that Totalcmd means the Totalcmd.exe itself as an executable file, not as the regular program's name.
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14870
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *petermad »

I tried replacing the 5 occurrences of Totalcmd in the English language file. I then tested the 4 dialog boxes where the strings occur, and there were no space problems in any of them with the longer strings.

So it should be straight forward for Ghisler to change this - which I think it should be.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48179
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I prefer not to change this, sorry.

Moderator message

Moved to will not be changed
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4649
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *white »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2024-04-12, 10:09 UTC I prefer not to change this, sorry.
Why?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48179
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Because it doesn't really matter, and I don't want to contact all translators for something not necessary.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4649
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *white »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2024-04-14, 09:04 UTC Because it doesn't really matter...
I agree that it is a minor issue. However, I do feel that fixing minor things like this does improve Total Commander. It enhances the overall user experience and makes the product more user-friendly.
Will you no longer fix other small issues as well, like typos and small cosmetic such as misalignments, etc.?
ghisler(Author) wrote: 2024-04-14, 09:04 UTC ...and I don't want to contact all translators for something not necessary.
You could opt to not inform the translators of the change, because as you say, it doesn't really matter.
Or you could postpone the change or postpone contacting the translators until a later version where translators need to be contacted anyway.
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1488
Joined: 2004-07-08, 08:58 UTC

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *JOUBE »

white wrote: 2024-04-14, 10:38 UTCHowever, I do feel that fixing minor things like this does improve Total Commander. It enhances the overall user experience and makes the product more user-friendly.
I see it differently, the Tc is a tool for professionals but at least for experienced users. And different names are common for this program: Tc totalcmd Totalcommander Total Commander... and it's definitely good if the user sees that this is okay and normal and it is up to the user how he uses the different names and that is even supported by Tc. Even inexperienced users and new users will not misunderstand the different terms but will appreciate them.

Joube
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14870
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Change typo in lng - use "Total Commander" instead of "totalcmd"

Post by *petermad »

Or you could postpone the change or postpone contacting the translators until a later version where translators need to be contacted anyway
I agree.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Post Reply