[TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

[TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *MaxX »

Is that possible to open file editor by F4 for any file opened by F3 (or Shift+F3) from Synchronize Directories Tool file comparison list?
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48187
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

This already works, just switch to text mode first (press 1) if a Lister plugin is showing the file content.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3788
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *tuska »

I didn't know about this function either and have tried it out.

When I press F4 in the 'Synchronize directories' window, the file is opened in EmEditor,
but the tick for the copy direction is also removed.

Can this perhaps be avoided?
With F4, the file in the left-hand path is always selected anyway.
EDIT: (Press Shift+F4 to edit the file in the right-hand path in EmEditor).

---
The 'Synchronize directories' window contained the files "Everthing.ini" and "Session.json".
The files were selected individually using the F4 key.
Last edited by tuska on 2024-05-14, 20:58 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1494
Joined: 2004-07-08, 08:58 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *JOUBE »

tuska wrote: 2024-05-14, 10:01 UTC Can this perhaps be avoided?
Not a good idea.
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3788
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *tuska »

JOUBE wrote: 2024-05-14, 12:44 UTC
tuska wrote: 2024-05-14, 10:01 UTC Can this perhaps be avoided?
Not a good idea.
Well, if someone opens AND saves(!) a file in the editor using F4 in the 'Synchronize directories' window,
then he should be aware that he may have to reset the synchronisation direction afterwards.
Otherwise it could be that he quickly learns this point.

"The highest security level" seems to me to be emptying the box after pressing F4 Editor.
However, in this case it can happen that afterwards the previously existing synchronization direction
must be puzzled. This means that the synchronisation has to be restarted.

Mmh, so far I haven't missed F4 in this context and that will - for the reasons mentioned above -
not be the case in the future.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14893
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *petermad »

When I press F4 in the 'Synchronize directories' window, the file is opened in EmEditor,
but the tick for the copy direction is also removed.
I consider this a bug too, or at least something that should be configurable
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3788
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *tuska »

I have now taken a closer look at the issue.

If I double-click on a line in the 'Synchronize directories' window, for example,
then the comparison tool "WinMerge" opens.
(wincmd.ini [Configuration] CompareTool=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\WinMergePortableZip\WinMergeU.exe)

If I exit "WinMerge" by pressing the ESC key WITHOUT changing/saving,
then the corresponding synchronisation direction remains CHECKED(!)

If I make a change/save in "WinMerge" and exit WinMerge,
then the arrow for the synchronisation direction is REMOVED.

---

An analogue procedure would also be desirable for me with F4 Editor:
- F4/Shift+F4 Editor WITHOUT change -> arrow remains present
- F4/Shift+F4 Editor WITH saving -> arrow is removed
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48187
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Currently Total Commander waits for the closing of the external compare tool, and unchecks the copy direction checkbox if one of the files changed in the meantime. This could be done with editors too, but unfortunately many editors (including the newest notepad) are multiple document editors now. Windows doesn't allow to track when a multiple document editor is closed when the editor was already open while pressing F4.

I could instead just monitor all the directories for changes, and uncheck all files which changed while the sync dialog was open. But this would cause problems with files changing all the time, like log files or settings files - they would constantly be excluded from sync.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3788
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *tuska »

2ghisler(Author)

Thanks for the detailed background information!
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14893
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *petermad »

Windows doesn't allow to track when a multiple document editor is closed when the editor was already open while pressing F4.
Could you perhaps at least make the check for changes when the editor was not already opened when F4 was pressed?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1494
Joined: 2004-07-08, 08:58 UTC

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *JOUBE »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2024-05-16, 09:41 UTC I could instead just monitor all the directories for changes, and uncheck all files which changed while the sync dialog was open. But this would cause problems with files changing all the time, like log files or settings files - they would constantly be excluded from sync.
Not a good idea, if there are files from 40000 *) folders in the list... Slows down everything for what...

Joube

*) and more is the dtandard here
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *MaxX »

Is it possible to do the same F4 for files in sync of two archives?
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48187
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

F4 already works in the sync tool even if one side shows the content of an archive. However, it's not possible when you first press F3 and then F4. This has been discussed before. The problem isn't the passing of the temporary name from Lister to the Editor, it's handling of the temporary file after that.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1039
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

Re: [TC11.03] Sync tool -> F3 (or Shift+F3) -> F4, is it possible?

Post by *MaxX »

Sure. It works. I just have forgotten about that.
Thanks for solution!
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
Post Reply