Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
MechLen
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-08-14, 11:57 UTC

Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *MechLen »

Hello,

running TC as Administrator will not open PDF in Adobe Reader. It's known issue which has two solutions.
Disable Adobe Protected Mode PDF files won't open from either Total Commander or Windows Explorer
or
internal TC PDF association TC8.01, Acrobat Reader DC - can't open pdf files from TC

The association worked in Win10 years for me. I moved to Win 11 and there isn't working. I tried to tune the script with quotes and slash but it just isn't opening the Adobe. I don't want to disable Adobe Protected Mode :-(

Do anybody using internal associations for PDF which works in Win11 please? This one do not work for me ...
Thank you!!!

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.pdf
Filter1_open=runas /trustlevel:0x20000 "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat DC\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe \"%1\"
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5753
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *white »

Is there a double quote character missing?
MechLen
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-08-14, 11:57 UTC

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *MechLen »

I tried it with double, but it didn't help ...

Code: Select all

Filter1_open=runas /trustlevel:0x20000 ""C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat DC\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe \"%1\""
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5753
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *white »

One quote too many now? In the thread you mentioned it says:
Denis.S wrote: 2019-06-07, 14:47 UTC This works fine:
runas /trustlevel:0x20000 "C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Acrobat Reader 2017\Reader\AcroRd32.exe \"%1\""
MechLen
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-08-14, 11:57 UTC

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *MechLen »

It didn't work for me this way. It worked at Win10, not on Win1 though.
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5753
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *white »

MechLen wrote: 2024-08-15, 11:38 UTC It didn't work for me this way. It worked at Win10, not on Win1 though.
If I recall correctly, Windows 11 requires for you to specify the /machine parameter as well.
MechLen
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-08-14, 11:57 UTC

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *MechLen »

Well that's why I asked at first message if someone successfully using it ;-)
I tried the machine code as well ... but didn't find the correct syntax ...
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5753
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *white »

MechLen wrote: 2024-08-15, 12:35 UTC I tried the machine code as well ... but didn't find the correct syntax ...
Does this work?

Code: Select all

runas /machine:amd64 /trustlevel:0x20000 "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat DC\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe \"%1\""
MechLen
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-08-14, 11:57 UTC

Re: Win11: open PDF with Adobe from TC as Admimistrator / help with internal association

Post by *MechLen »

Yes! This one works ;-)
So the amd64 was the key for me. Tried all the others (x86, x86_64, x64) but not this one.
Thanks a lot!

So on Windows 11 for me working this way:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.pdf
Filter1_open=runas /machine:amd64 /trustlevel:0x20000 "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat DC\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe \"%1\""
Post Reply