Custom button for Quick Search

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
bogordo
Member
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: 2019-12-06, 09:07 UTC

Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *bogordo »

Hi,

Is there any way of creating a button so that when i click it i get a dialog (in a cutom path, say c:\projects) for Quick search?

See, now, to navigate to my projects (always named "1234_project_A", "1235_project_B"... i have to:
1_ navigate to c:\projects path
2_ Ctrl+s
3_ Type project number "1234" > press ENTER > i am in "1234_project_A" folder.

Would be nice to reduce this to something like:
1_ Press button
2_ Type project number "1234" > press ENTER

(Without navigating to project folder)

I tried too playing with "cd" command and entering only the number of the project but does not work, you have to type all the name...

I would appreciate any help, thank you!!
TC license #346559
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6951
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *Horst.Epp »

There is no Ctrl-S necessary to start quick search.
With the correct config, it starts quick search when you start typing and shows only the matching entries.

Quick search can't change your starting path.
There are many ways to go to your start path, Directory hotlist or a button for example.
Windows 11 Home, Version 24H2 (OS Build 26100.3915)
TC 11.51 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1391a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.5.2.0, Listary Pro 6.3.2.88
QAP 11.6.4.2.1 x64
bogordo
Member
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: 2019-12-06, 09:07 UTC

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *bogordo »

Yes, i could use Letters in Quick search options but then i can't type commands because it executes the search always.

What method do you think is faster to access my numbered Projects folder?

Thank you,
TC license #346559
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5747
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *white »

2bogordo
Are you aware of folder history and frequently used folders, and that you can use quick search there.
Just press Alt+Down and start typing.

It's not what you asked for, but perhaps still useful to you.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16001
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *petermad »

2bogordo
Try this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd "c:\Projects",cm_QuickFilter

%COMMANDER_EXE%,26
Open Quick Filter in C:\Projects


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the text in the box here above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctrl+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".

If you don't want to filter the file panel, but just jump to the entered dir, you can use:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd "c:\Projects",cm_QuickSearch

wcmicons.dll,47
Open Quick Search in C:\Projects


-1
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
bogordo
Member
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: 2019-12-06, 09:07 UTC

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *bogordo »

petermad you are the man!! this works like a charm, really fast and convenient, thank you very much.

white yes, i knew this, not exactly what i was searching for, thanks.

Just for curiosity, is there a way to "cd" to folders ignoring part of the name? like "cd 1234*" to enter folder "1234_house_in_the beach".

Thank you all, great help ;)
TC license #346559
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16001
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *petermad »

ust for curiosity, is there a way to "cd" to folders ignoring part of the name? like "cd 1234*" to enter folder "1234_house_in_the beach".
No, and if there were more than on folder starting with 1234 - how would TC know which one to fo into?

you can do this:

Make this entry in your usercmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

[em_filter1234]
cmd=cd "1234*.\"|*
And the use this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cd "c:\projects",cm_Wait 100,em_filter1234,cm_GoToFirstEntry,cm_SrcAllFiles,cm_Return

wcmicons.dll,47
Go into c:\projects\1234*


-1
it wil go into the first folder that starts with 1234 in the c:\projects folder.

If it doesn't work, then try and increase the number after cm_Wait.
If you don't want to go into the 1234* director, but just want the cursor place on the foldery, then just remove ,cm_Return
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
bogordo
Member
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: 2019-12-06, 09:07 UTC

Re: Custom button for Quick Search

Post by *bogordo »

Thank you petermad, very kind.

Yeah you are right, in my case every project has a unique number:
1234_house_at_beach
1445_apartment_mountain
...

So i was looking for somehow a way to "ignore" the text part "_house_in_beach" and use only the number, but hey, your first button work perfect for that ;)

Thank you again, best regards
TC license #346559
Post Reply