How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 7
- Joined: 2012-04-21, 11:49 UTC
How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
Hi,
There is a command to open a new tab in the other panel's background with the current directory( cm_OpenDirinNewTabOther ), but not a command to open it and activate it at once. I'd really like to be able to do that as well. Right now it's a four-step process: open tab in other panel's background, tab over to other panel, activate the correct tab, tab over to original panel.
Appreciate your help!
There is a command to open a new tab in the other panel's background with the current directory( cm_OpenDirinNewTabOther ), but not a command to open it and activate it at once. I'd really like to be able to do that as well. Right now it's a four-step process: open tab in other panel's background, tab over to other panel, activate the correct tab, tab over to original panel.
Appreciate your help!
Re: How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
Try this:toybear1999 wrote:Hi,
There is a command to open a new tab in the other panel's background with the current directory( cm_OpenDirinNewTabOther ), but not a command to open it and activate it at once. I'd really like to be able to do that as well. Right now it's a four-step process: open tab in other panel's background, tab over to other panel, activate the correct tab, tab over to original panel.
Appreciate your help!
- add a button with command
"%commander_path%/totalcmd.exe" /O /T /R="%P" /P=L
It must work, according with help file.
My Best Wishes,
Eugen
Eugen
Re: How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
It should be:eugensyl wrote:Try this:
- add a button with command
"%commander_path%/totalcmd.exe" /O /T /R="%P" /P=L
It must work, according with help file.
Code: Select all
Command: "%commander_path%/totalcmd.exe"
Parameters: /O /T /S /R="%P" /P=R
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 7
- Joined: 2012-04-21, 11:49 UTC
Re: How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
It works very well. very thanks for your kindly help. But how can I assign a shortkey such as "Ctrl+Down' to this command?
Appreciate your help again.
Appreciate your help again.
white wrote:It should be:eugensyl wrote:Try this:
- add a button with command
"%commander_path%/totalcmd.exe" /O /T /R="%P" /P=L
It must work, according with help file.Except that it does not work because the /S switch does not change the behavior of the /P= switch.Code: Select all
Command: "%commander_path%/totalcmd.exe" Parameters: /O /T /S /R="%P" /P=R
toybear1999, you should pack this command to user-command (em_command) in order to assign a hotkey for it.
Open Configuration - Misc., choose desired hotkey, click "..." button to open command browser (Choose command window), choose usercmd.ini and create new command with same contents as above. Then apply all.
You may remove parameter /P=R if you don't need a half-working active panel switching. However you can create two user-commands activating its panel (one with /P=L and one with /P=R) and call desired one. Also, you can check which panel is active and call right one using e.g. my TCFS2.
Open Configuration - Misc., choose desired hotkey, click "..." button to open command browser (Choose command window), choose usercmd.ini and create new command with same contents as above. Then apply all.
You may remove parameter /P=R if you don't need a half-working active panel switching. However you can create two user-commands activating its panel (one with /P=L and one with /P=R) and call desired one. Also, you can check which panel is active and call right one using e.g. my TCFS2.
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 7
- Joined: 2012-04-21, 11:49 UTC
Very very thanks for your help. It works now. I create two commands as your advised. They works very well.
MVV wrote:toybear1999, you should pack this command to user-command (em_command) in order to assign a hotkey for it.
Open Configuration - Misc., choose desired hotkey, click "..." button to open command browser (Choose command window), choose usercmd.ini and create new command with same contents as above. Then apply all.
You may remove parameter /P=R if you don't need a half-working active panel switching. However you can create two user-commands activating its panel (one with /P=L and one with /P=R) and call desired one. Also, you can check which panel is active and call right one using e.g. my TCFS2.
Re:
This is my custom command, and it’s almost perfect, except that I still need to press the Tab key once.MVV wrote: 2012-04-22, 05:55 UTC toybear1999, you should pack this command to user-command (em_command) in order to assign a hotkey for it.
Open Configuration - Misc., choose desired hotkey, click "..." button to open command browser (Choose command window), choose usercmd.ini and create new command with same contents as above. Then apply all.
You may remove parameter /P=R if you don't need a half-working active panel switching. However you can create two user-commands activating its panel (one with /P=L and one with /P=R) and call desired one. Also, you can check which panel is active and call right one using e.g. my TCFS2.
Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther]
cmd=%COMMANDER_EXE%
param=/A /T /O /S /R="%P%N"
I want to open in other panel and set focus to the target panel
Can the parameters dynamically return based on the execution of tcfs2?
param=/A /T /O /S /R="%P%N" /P=L
or
param=/A /T /O /S /R="%P%N" /P=R
Re: How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
How about using this:
Or if you want to open the dir under the cursor in the tab:
Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther]
cmd=cm_OpenNewTabOther,cm_FocusTrg
Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther]
cmd=cm_OpenDirInNewTabOther,cm_FocusTrg
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Re: How can I open directory in other panel and activate it
It works well!petermad wrote: 2024-12-16, 14:31 UTC How about using this:Or if you want to open the dir under the cursor in the tab:Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther] cmd=cm_OpenNewTabOther,cm_FocusTrg
Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther] cmd=cm_OpenDirInNewTabOther,cm_FocusTrg
For me, I prefer the following command.
Code: Select all
[em_OpenDirInNewTabOther]
cmd=%COMMANDER_EXE%
param=/A /O /T /S /R="%P%N"
[em_OpenDirInNewTabtarget]
cmd=em_OpenDirInNewTabOther,cm_wait 200,cm_FocusTrg