DirSizeCalc 1.21 (content plug-in)

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2icfu
Sorry for that. I will correct it in the next release this evening.
User avatar
nevidimka
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 385
Joined: 2004-06-20, 21:38 UTC

Post by *nevidimka »

DirSizeCalc.lng was misnamed to DirSize.lng.
Yep and it's an old version (without "Empty").
The doorstep to the temple of wisdom is a knowledge of our own ignorance. Benjamin Franklin
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

Code: Select all

[=dirsizecalc.Size (on demand).bytes][=" (demand no "nl_info.Junction Type") "][=" "dirsizecalc.Size (background).bytes]
I have several problems with the above custom column. My intent is to show something like

Code: Select all

<background size>                                           for files and folders, and
(demand no <junction type>) <background size>               for Junctions/Mount points
then the user could press SPACE on a junction to get

Code: Select all

<background size>                                           for files and folders, and
 <on demand size) (demand no <junction type>) <background size>          for Junctions/Mount points
and ideally be able to correctly sort by size either before pressing SPACE (calculated space) or after pressing SPACE (occupied space).

Here are the problems.
1. for regular files and folders I get both the <on demand size> and <background size> without my pressing SPACE. why am I getting <on demand size> if I didn't ask for it?
2. for junctions I get "(demand no Junction) " followed by <background size>. this is what I expected. but then when I press SPACE, TC selects the junction name and that's it, no on demand size is calculated. why?
3. (don't know if this is possible) - is there a way to tweak my custom column definition so that when SPACE is eventually pressed the <on demand size> value SUBSTITUTES the string "(demand no Junction)" instead of being prepended to it?

TIA
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2sgp
I will investigate your observations. To analyse I need your DirSizeCalc.ini file. Please send me this file or post it here.
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

DirSizeCalc 1.12 has been released.

DirSizeCalc 1.12

DirSizeCalc 1.12 documentation

Code: Select all

- FIXED		Default settings file is now created during plugin installation.
- ADDED		Russian translation added.
- FIXED		Fixed faulty language file.
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

here you go, I'm running v. 1.11, thanks

Code: Select all

[Reparse Points]
; Reparse point settings:
; 0=Don't follow junctions or mount points
; 1=Follow junctions
; 2=Follow mount points
; 3=Follow junctions and mount points

; Settings for reparse point at the current directory.
TopFollowReparsePointsBackground=3
TopFollowReparsePointsOnDemand=0

; Settings for reparse points below the current directory.
SubFollowReparsePointsBackground=3
SubFollowReparsePointsOnDemand=0

[Default_CustomUnitConfig]
; AllowedUnits=A combination of the following values bytes=1 kbytes=2 mbytes=4 gbytes=8
AllowedUnits=1

; NumberOfDigits= The number of digits. Example: 1,000232748574 with NumberOfDigits=2 will display 1,00
NumberOfDigits=1

; The decimal separator (1 character).
DecimalSeparator=,

; Display a leading zero if value smaller 1 (0=no/1=yes).
LeadingZero=1

; The thousand separator (1 character).
ThousandSeparator=.

; Displays 869,000 b instead of 869 b.
WantByteDigits=1

; Use see thousand separator supplied in "ThousandSeparator" (0=no/1=yes). 
WantThousandSeparator=1

[CustomUnitConfig_KB]
WantByteDigits=1
NumberOfDigits=2
AllowedUnits=1
LeadingZero=1

[CustomUnitConfig_All_Dims]
AllowedUnits=15
NumberOfDigits=1
WantByteDigits=0

[CustomUnitConfig_GB]
AllowedUnits=8
NumberOfDigits=6
WantThousandSeparator=0
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2sgp
1. for regular files and folders I get both the <on demand size> and <background size> without my pressing SPACE. why am I getting <on demand size> if I didn't ask for it?
This has to be analysed a bit more. At the moment I cannot tell you the reason.
2. for junctions I get "(demand no Junction) " followed by <background size>. this is what I expected. but then when I press SPACE, TC selects the junction name and that's it, no on demand size is calculated. why?
You have completely deactivated follow reparse points for "on demand" fields in your DirSizeCalc.ini. Both settings are set to 0 which means don't follow reparse points at all. That means even if you press SPACE nothing will happen. Try the other values.
3. (don't know if this is possible) - is there a way to tweak my custom column definition so that when SPACE is eventually pressed the <on demand size> value SUBSTITUTES the string "(demand no Junction)" instead of being prepended to it?
Currently not. But who knows which features will be offered by the plugin interface in the future :-)

A general hint: I think it's a better idea to create two columns in this case instead of merging all size fields two a single column.
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

Lefteous wrote:2sgp
2. for junctions I get "(demand no Junction) " followed by <background size>. this is what I expected. but then when I press SPACE, TC selects the junction name and that's it, no on demand size is calculated. why?
You have completely deactivated follow reparse points for "on demand" fields in your DirSizeCalc.ini. Both settings are set to 0 which means don't follow reparse points at all. That means even if you press SPACE nothing will happen. Try the other values.
It isn't clear to me what settings will give me what I want.
I want for background behavior to include size of all junctions in total size. I think I got that properly setup up.
Then I want for on demand behavior to exclude size of all juntions below (and include size of all non-junctions below) when I press SPACE on a junction link. Basically I want an on-demand function to see occupied space (real) size of a folder tree. Is that possible? Can you show me the settings? TIA
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2sgp
Coming back to the unanswered question:
for regular files and folders I get both the <on demand size> and <background size> without my pressing SPACE. why am I getting <on demand size> if I didn't ask for it?
It's technical not possible to mix "on demand" and background fields in one column.
Please use two columns as suggested above.
It isn't clear to me what settings will give me what I want.
I want for background behavior to include size of all junctions in total size. I think I got that properly setup up.
Then I want for on demand behavior to exclude size of all juntions below (and include size of all non-junctions below) when I press SPACE on a junction link. Basically I want an on-demand function to see occupied space (real) size of a folder tree. Is that possible? Can you show me the settings?
Following a junction link means redirecting to a new location. There is never any occupied space below a junction point.
To see the occupied space below a certain path (not a junction point) you have to set SubFollowReparsePointsOnDemand to 0.

(A bug in 1.12 disabled junction excluding, sorry for that.)
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

DirSizeCalc 1.13 has been released.

DirSizeCalc 1.13

DirSizeCalc 1.13 documentation
history wrote:1.13
- FIXED Settings were not read in some cases.

1.12
- FIXED Default settings file is now created during plugin installation.
- ADDED Russian translation added.
- FIXED Fixed faulty language file.
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

Lefteous wrote:2sgp
It's technical not possible to mix "on demand" and background fields in one column.
Please use two columns as suggested above... (snip)
(A bug in 1.12 disabled junction excluding, sorry for that.)
OK, I've separated into two columns, background and on demand, with
SubFollowReparsePointsOnDemand set to 0 (top and below) and SubFollowReparsePointsBackground set to 3 (top and below). But still:
1. when I press SPACE the filename is highlighted (selected) and nothing happens
2. in the dirsizcalc folder, the on-demand column is populated automatically. why is that, should it be empty until I press SPACE on an item?

One more question regarding TC: is it possible to tell TC to populate the file details panel by column order instead of by row order? That is, can it fill all details in column A before it moves on to fill column B? Right now it fills all of row 1 before moving on to row2 and so on.
Thanks
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2sgp
when I press SPACE the filename is highlighted (selected) and nothing happens
Tell me more about this filename:
1) Is it a junction?
2) Is it a file?
3) Is it an ordinary folder?
2. in the dirsizcalc folder, the on-demand column is populated automatically. why is that, should it be empty until I press SPACE on an item?
The size of files in the current folder is always calculated in the foreground. In the dirsizecalc folder there are no subdirectories so I guess you are talking of filenames.
is it possible to tell TC to populate the file details panel by column order instead of by row order? That is, can it fill all details in column A before it moves on to fill column B? Right now it fills all of row 1 before moving on to row2 and so on.
I don't think so.
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

Lefteous wrote:2sgp
when I press SPACE the filename is highlighted (selected) and nothing happens
Tell me more about this filename:
1) Is it a junction?
2) Is it a file?
3) Is it an ordinary folder?
OK, I got it. It was a junction, so I changed settings to:

Code: Select all

TopFollowReparsePointsBackground=3
TopFollowReparsePointsOnDemand=3   <-- was 0
SubFollowReparsePointsBackground=3
SubFollowReparsePointsOnDemand=0
and now it works as I wanted it - press SPACE to see real occupied disk space of selected junction/mountpoint.

thanks
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2sgp
and now it works as I wanted it - press SPACE to see real occupied disk space of selected junction/mountpoint.
Good to hear that it works now as aspected. :-)
carstenkoegler
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-04-27, 15:57 UTC

Post by *carstenkoegler »

I'm looking for an TC-Plugin, which provides an value "ZeroSubDirs". It should only tell, whether an directory contains subdirectories or not. This could be calculated fast also on external devices. I want to use it, to color the directories in my mp3-archive which contains subdirectories.
Post Reply