Plugin writing

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
kabir79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-04-09, 13:48 UTC

Plugin writing

Post by *kabir79 »

May be a old topic. but i tried to search. In google and in forum also.

How can i write FSPlugin using Visual Basic.

If not possible then what would be the senario if i want to populate the tcmd window with text which will be read from file.
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

Maybe this wil helpful for you.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
kabir79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-04-09, 13:48 UTC

Post by *kabir79 »

thanx SheepDog. But i want to make my own plugin and what i want to do it cannot be done by that plugin.

Can anybody help me out that how can i show my custom list in the tcmd panel.

Findfirst-Next-Close in Sample FSplugin is bit hazy to me. I cannot recognize which line gives the output to tcmd panel.
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

But i want to make my own plugin and what i want to do it cannot be done by that plugin.
That is what this plugin is absolutely capable to. The help says in the "ScriptWFX.ini" section:
ScriptWFX help wrote:Here you can define the name (with extension) of a script inside Path. If a script is defined, then the plugin will not list the scripts in the plugin-root, instead it will directly go to the script-filesystem when opening "\\\scriptwfx". By default there is no script set, so the plugin lists all available scripts inside Path.
Setting a script can be usefull, if you have only one script, or if you rename and copy the ScriptWFX for each script to get direct access without listing the scripts in the plugin-root.
Findfirst-Next-Close in Sample FSplugin is bit hazy to me. I cannot recognize which line gives the output to tcmd panel.
Again, in this case the ScriptWFX should be your choice, there you only have to fill an array, read the help.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
ricobautsch
Member
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-06-21, 00:42 UTC

Post by *ricobautsch »

There are really some limitations with Scripts.

In VBScript you cannot call DLL functions, such as direct Windows API calls. Anyway, most things are available with COM-Objects, which are accessible by VBScript.

Calling DLL functions from within the Script is one of the features i'm working on for a next version.
kabir79 wrote:what i want to do it cannot be done by that plugin
You can describe what exactly do you want to do. Maybe i can give you an statement if it is possible in principle with ScriptWFX or not.
kabir79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-04-09, 13:48 UTC

Post by *kabir79 »

Thnx ricobautsch.
What i want, is to use outlook explorer object. do u have any idea that how i can refer the objects from VBScript?
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2kabir79
Have you checked the example script "Outlook Folders.vbs" in the scripts folder? This gives you a good starting idea.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
ricobautsch
Member
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: 2005-06-21, 00:42 UTC

Post by *ricobautsch »

You can manage Outlook completely with COM (automation) objects. So you can use it with nearly every programming language (including scripting languages). Therefore the ScriptWFX-plugin is an easy way to implement your needs.

As SanskritFritz says, there is a small sample included with the ScriptWFX-plugin which can give you an idea how to start.

I have found (thanx to google ;-)) a graphical map of the Outlook Object Model here.
Further references should be found with google or use the help in the VisualBasic-Editor of your Outlook (Alt-F11).
kabir79
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-04-09, 13:48 UTC

Post by *kabir79 »

Yup. I'd look at the code of "Outlook Folders". But the problem was, it says "cannot create object 'outlook.aplication '".

But note that, the machine have outlook 2005 and vba code runs smoothly within the outlook or from visual basic. But whenever i put the code in vbs file. the problem was occured.

Any solution can u give?
User avatar
tbeu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1354
Joined: 2003-07-04, 07:52 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *tbeu »

Try "outlook.application" instead!
Post Reply