Two new USB installers for Total Commander
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
small copy-bug in tc2usb.exe
hi christian,
a small bug, i encountered:
if i try to install to C:\stuff\tc\totalcmd and C:\stuff does not exists. tc2usb.exe gives a failure message. "error copying file!"
after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program says "failure" again, but i cannot press any button but cancel.
or:
after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program does nothing, but the back/next buttons are greyed out and i can only press cancel.
a small bug, i encountered:
if i try to install to C:\stuff\tc\totalcmd and C:\stuff does not exists. tc2usb.exe gives a failure message. "error copying file!"
after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program says "failure" again, but i cannot press any button but cancel.
or:
after creating the folder and going back with the back-button and then start again, the program does nothing, but the back/next buttons are greyed out and i can only press cancel.
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?
Mario
Mario
how to automaticly copy files from within the startmenu?
2christian:
do you plan to implement an option/dialog to include files which are linked in the starter menu?
i got a lot of useful tools in my starter menu, but they don't be copied to the usb-stick right now.
something like:
menu95=TC => USB (TC auf den USB Stick installieren)
cmd95=tc2usb.exe
path95=%COMMANDER_PATH%
or
menu97=TC Plugins Manager
cmd97=TC_plugman.exe
path97=%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\exe\TC_plugman\
etc...
i know, this could be complicated (and not economical for drive space) to implement,
but it *is* useful (for me)
so it might be a dialog for the user to choose:
do you plan to implement an option/dialog to include files which are linked in the starter menu?
i got a lot of useful tools in my starter menu, but they don't be copied to the usb-stick right now.
something like:
menu95=TC => USB (TC auf den USB Stick installieren)
cmd95=tc2usb.exe
path95=%COMMANDER_PATH%
or
menu97=TC Plugins Manager
cmd97=TC_plugman.exe
path97=%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\exe\TC_plugman\
etc...
i know, this could be complicated (and not economical for drive space) to implement,
but it *is* useful (for me)
so it might be a dialog for the user to choose:
Code: Select all
| [x] copy all files/data which is mentioned in the startmenu
| [x] incl. the whole directories and sub dirs, in which one of those files is placed
| (so libaries and other dll stuff will be copied too)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?
Mario
Mario
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Sorry, currently not. Most of the programs there are external, so copying them would cause several problems:do you plan to implement an option/dialog to include files which are linked in the starter menu?
1. Licence problems: Microsoft wouldn't be amused if I copied e.g. winword.exe to the stick
2. Settings problems: Winword would not find its registry keys
3. Dependency problems: Many non-portable programs will not work without specific files in system32.
Therefore I'm leaving it up to the user.
Indeed the installer cannot currently create multple level deep directories, sorry.if i try to install to C:\stuff\tc\totalcmd and C:\stuff does not exists. tc2usb.exe gives a failure message. "error copying file!"
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
- ghisler(Author)
- Site Admin
- Posts: 50386
- Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
The USB installer is written in VC++ 6.0, though, to make it very small. I should have such code somewhere, though.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
https://www.ghisler.com
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 66
- Joined: 2003-02-07, 23:44 UTC
Hi all ! I'm currently using Total Commander from an USB Key.
With this code, it automatically opens when I double-click on the drive in Windows Explorer...
My question is :
is there any way to lanch TotalCmd with the USB Disk root shown in the left/right pannel ?
I tried the "/L" switch with the "%Commander_path%\..\.." but it doesn't work !
Wouldn't be useful to add an option that could allow it ?
Thanks
Code: Select all
[Autorun]
Label=USB Key
Icon=Tools\TotalCmd\Totalcmd.exe,0
Shell=TotalCmd
Shell\TotalCmd=&Total Commander
Shell\TotalCmd\Command=Tools\TotalCmd\Totalcmd.exe
My question is :
is there any way to lanch TotalCmd with the USB Disk root shown in the left/right pannel ?
I tried the "/L" switch with the "%Commander_path%\..\.." but it doesn't work !
Wouldn't be useful to add an option that could allow it ?
Thanks
relative pathnames in wincmd.ini
it would be very nice, if the wincmd.ini could handle relative paths for i.e. the editor.
on every system i plug my usb-drive, it gets another drive-letter (F: or G: or T: ...)
my editor is on the stick, but unfortunately i have to choose it again on every start of TC, because the drive-letter changed.
i tried something like path: "..\bla\foo\editor.exe" but it doesnt work. (file not found)
on every system i plug my usb-drive, it gets another drive-letter (F: or G: or T: ...)
my editor is on the stick, but unfortunately i have to choose it again on every start of TC, because the drive-letter changed.
i tried something like path: "..\bla\foo\editor.exe" but it doesnt work. (file not found)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?
Mario
Mario
-
- Junior Member
- Posts: 66
- Joined: 2003-02-07, 23:44 UTC
I think you should try this :
for example, if your tcmd is in g:\tools\totalcmd\ & you type, it will list the content of g:\tools\
I guess it also works for calling external editors.
Code: Select all
%Commander_Path%\..\..\bla\foo\editor.exe
for example, if your tcmd is in g:\tools\totalcmd\ & you type
Code: Select all
cmd /k dir %commander_path%\..
I guess it also works for calling external editors.
it worked! thanks a lot.Tsunulukai wrote:I think you should try this :Code: Select all
%Commander_Path%\..\..\bla\foo\editor.exe
for example, if your tcmd is in g:\tools\totalcmd\ & you type, it will list the content of g:\tools\Code: Select all
cmd /k dir %commander_path%\..
I guess it also works for calling external editors.
.oO(hmpf. why didnt had i this simple idea?)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?
Mario
Mario
Nested Bar Creator with U3 version ?
As I now have an U3 stick there are some questions:
2christian
why is there only version 6.53 available as U3 ?
2allOthers
has someone found a way to successfully use the Nested Bar Creator
in the U3 environment ?
2christian
why is there only version 6.53 available as U3 ?
2allOthers
has someone found a way to successfully use the Nested Bar Creator
in the U3 environment ?
Re: Nested Bar Creator with U3 version ?
https://plugins.ghisler.com/addons/totalcmd.u3pHorst.Epp wrote:As I now have an U3 stick there are some questions:
2christian
why is there only version 6.53 available as U3 ?
Link to the version 6.54
It works fine hereHorst.Epp wrote: 2allOthers
has someone found a way to successfully use the Nested Bar Creator
in the U3 environment ?
Use :
Command : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Up_1.ico
Icon : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Dn_1.ico
Command : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\bars\Bar_2.bar
Icon : %U3_APP_DATA_PATH%\nested bar creator\icons\Dn_2.ico
...
HTH
Gil
Licence #17346
90% of coding is debugging. The other 10% is writing bugs.
Licence #17346
90% of coding is debugging. The other 10% is writing bugs.
Why these ini settings of wincmd are ignored when copy to usb?
I know that in usb sticks with port usb 1.0 is a little slow launch TC (in mine case this happen when i active IconLib=...) But could be an option in the wizard guide for the user.
Another suggestion could be, show a page with file list of wincmd directory, with the files no includes in default installation of TC.
Code: Select all
drivelib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\drivebar.dll
IconLib=%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcicolib.icl
Another suggestion could be, show a page with file list of wincmd directory, with the files no includes in default installation of TC.
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
Re: Not in French here
Si l'on ne peut pas poster en français dans ce forum, pourquoi vous l'avez fait?Clo wrote:2Tilde
Bonsoir, Hello !
- Vous ne devez pas poster en Français sur ce forum. Veuillez poster sur le Forum Français avec un lien vers cette rubrique, l'Auteur est tout à fait capable de lire votre message en Français, mais pas tous les autres Membres…
Cordialement,
Claude
Clo


