[Tool] Visual Tfind v1.0.10 -Ready for TC

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 795
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

[Tool] Visual Tfind v1.0.10 -Ready for TC

Post by *Sombra »

Graphical User Interface for TFind - NTFS disk searcher. Ready for Total Commander (dirty integration)

General features:
  • You can use it for match filenames with specified patterns. Wildcards are allowed too.
  • Allow to define drives to search.
  • Export, Import and Print searches results.
  • Copy all (or selected) search results to clipboard.
  • Copy name with full path, copy path to clipboard, short path...
  • View, edit, run, run with parameters, Open with... files from the search results list.
  • Open path in DOS box.
  • Open the search results list in your favorite editor.
  • Open the selected file in Explorer.
  • Filter the search results.
  • Portable application (except for shell integration)
  • Integration with external file managers.
Options allowed with Total commander integration:
  • Open file into TC. (Double click in list or F7)
  • Open path or parent path of file in TC. (Shift+F7)
  • View file with built-in lister or external viewer. (F3 or ALT+F3)
  • Feed to listbox in TC if diskdir(Extended) plugin is installed. (choose in configuration) (CTRL+L)
  • Feed selected to listbox. (CTRL+Shift+L)
  • Optional load dates and sizes in feed panel.
  • Open file/list in TC can be opened in same panel or new Tab.
    Please, read vtfind.chm for integrate it with TC.
Know issues:
  • - View with the built-in Lister in Total Commander, don't work if AppLoader 0.8.0.0 is installed and "activated". Please upgrade Apploader.
Download:
:arrow: vtfind_1.0.10.zip (vtfind_1.0.10.md5) -20090324

Full history:
:arrow: History
Last edited by Sombra on 2009-03-26, 21:56 UTC, edited 13 times in total.
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
jjk
Member
Member
Posts: 179
Joined: 2003-07-03, 10:41 UTC

Post by *jjk »

Very nice !! Here, it works correctly, but i've not still checked all its features.
Cheers
User avatar
neophite
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2006-11-03, 12:59 UTC

Post by *neophite »

doesn't work for me :cry:
I always get "No files found"! Any suggestions to get this promising tool to work? Thanks
neophite
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 920
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

neophite wrote:I always get "No files found"! Any suggestions to get this promising tool to work?
Make sure you use wildcards in the search term.
E.g. *sometext* or *.exe *.avi
User avatar
neophite
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2006-11-03, 12:59 UTC

Post by *neophite »

I used wildcards, but always the same result: no files found

Edit:
ok i moved your tool from: "c:\Programme\Total Commander 7\Plugins\Other\Search\" to "c:\search" and it worked! :D Seems it has some problems with spaces in the path...

Any chance to get the fhrar problem fixed?
User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 795
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by *Sombra »

2jjk
Thank you for test it.

2neophite
Seems it has some problems with spaces in the path...
Now it should work. Could you check it?
Any chance to get the fhrar problem fixed?
Hmmm... A different method for go to file should be studied. But I can't promise anything about it.

IMHO it is a bug with fhrar. Also it happens if you have the shell extension for open files with TC. (right click over a file > open file in TC)
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
User avatar
dott
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: 2007-03-04, 00:58 UTC
Location: La Plata, Argentina

Post by *dott »

2Sombra
Thanks for this tool :)

Don't work here on \program files\totalcmd\tools\vtfind and yes on users\name\vtfind

I have a problem with SciTe(doesn't like file names with spaces) as editor, any chance of sent 8.3 or "file name" to editor.

TIA
Probablemente no
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 920
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

I just noticed that the TFind version used is not the latest.

To my knowledge there were two updates:

09 April 2008 - UAC workaround, default to searching all drives.
12 April 2008 Silent Update not mentioned on the site. This update slightly changes the output syntax.
User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 795
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by *Sombra »

2dott
Don't work here on \program files\totalcmd\tools\vtfind and yes on users\name\vtfind
You are right. The program must be in a writeable directory, If you want run it (for example in Program Files) It should be launched as administrator, or right click in file and check the option as administrator by default. I'll try change the default location for save the ini configuration and data. (but I like more as portable)
I have a problem with SciTe(doesn't like file names with spaces) as editor, any chance of sent 8.3 or "file name" to editor.
Please try this test version for check it: http://www.breto.net/temp/vtfind-test.zip

2ZoSTeR
Thank you by the info. The test version has been updated with the newest tfind.exe.
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
User avatar
neophite
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2006-11-03, 12:59 UTC

Post by *neophite »

2Sombra
The problem with the spaces is gone. Thanks for fixing.
Good luck with the go to file problem.
neophite
User avatar
dott
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: 2007-03-04, 00:58 UTC
Location: La Plata, Argentina

Post by *dott »

Sombra wrote:You are right. The program must be in a writeable directory, If you want run it (for example in Program Files) It should be launched as administrator, or right click in file and check the option as administrator by default. I'll try change the default location for save the ini configuration and data. (but I like more as portable)
I like portable too; my %programfiles% folder is a writeable folder and start my windows session as administrator always(I assume all the risks)

I'll test the new version, thanks.
User avatar
dott
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: 2007-03-04, 00:58 UTC
Location: La Plata, Argentina

Post by *dott »

2Sombra
Thanks, SciTe and "folder's names with spaces" problems are fixed now
User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 795
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by *Sombra »

2neophite
The problem with the spaces is gone. Thanks for fixing.
Good luck with the go to file problem.
Glad to heard it. Thank you for check. :)
Go to file (and fhrar installed), seem solved. You can check it in beta 3. The more simply way was used and totalcmd integration was changed, please, read again the documentation.

2dott
my %programfiles% folder is a writeable folder and start my windows session as administrator always(I assume all the risks)
Seem that you are using Windows vista, is it?
As I wrote, this tool write data in same folder where it is located, if the application was launched as administrator, then it should work in "program files".
Remember that even if you are logged as administrator, You can't write "by default" in certain special areas llike "program files". Vista runs applications as lower level privilege as the default.
Of course, also I don't know if you are modify/cheat the UAC and/or the Windows ACL ;)

A new switch (IniLocation=1) was added for save data in "all users" directory, it perhaps help for vista users. Please, read the documentation for view as work.
For use this switch in vtfind.ini, first is necessary search for all vtfind.ini in "VirtualStore" directories and delete the files found.
Thanks, SciTe and "folder's names with spaces" problems are fixed now
Glad! Thank you for testing :)

--

New beta version was release: 1.0 beta 3 (5.5.2008). You can download it from first post.

Changes:
  • Added: Feed to listbox in TC can be chosen for open in same panel or new tab. (before always in tab)
    Added: Optional save ini configuration and data in different location to application directory. (All users profile) Improvement compatibility for Windows Vista users.
    Added: CHM documentation / Help file.
    Added: Updated tfind.exe console to newest version (12.4.2008). MD5: e55f7e15a55d7dd5f673e0d17f666caf
    Fixed/Added: Open file in TC should work if fhrar plugin is installed too.
    Fixed: Some editors don't accept the passed file names.
    Fixed: Problems for open file in TC doesn't work if the user is inside an archive.
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 920
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

Thanks for the new version.

Three suggestions:

- When the drives field is empty search all drives (like tfind default)
- Abillity to feed only selected files to listbox (DiskDir)
- Abillity to cancel search (kill tfind)

There's another workaround for the fhRAR bug so you can use the /OSL method again.
Disable the "Detect archive by content" attribute for fhRAR (subtract 64).

In Wincmd.ini section "PackerPlugins" change

Code: Select all

RAR=196,%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wcx\fhRAR\fhRAR.wcx
to

Code: Select all

RAR=132,%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wcx\fhRAR\fhRAR.wcx
User avatar
Sombra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 795
Joined: 2005-12-27, 22:23 UTC
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by *Sombra »

- When the drives field is empty search all drives (like tfind default)
- Abillity to feed only selected files to listbox (DiskDir)
Ok, I'll add these options, I will release it soon if there isn't any problems.
- Abillity to cancel search (kill tfind)
hmm... I'm not sure to add it, I tried it time ago, but I did prefer give the priority to tfind.exe. (I should think about it)
There's another workaround for the fhRAR bug so you can use the /OSL method again.
Disable the "Detect archive by content" attribute for fhRAR (subtract 64).
Hey! very good point :) It work fine, thank you for this great hint. Anyway the current (and dirty method) work too and it is more easy to integrate for the user (I think)
I haven't tested it at all (for archives with *.r01, r02...) but it work correctly, even for open files from explorer, in "open window dialogue", etc (Shell integration TC&Windows)

Thank you for your suggestions and tips ;)
I can read English, but... I write like Tarzan. (sorry)
Post Reply