[idea] [pending] split files at EOF markers

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

chrizoo

[idea] [pending] split files at EOF markers

Post by *chrizoo »

Hi. Currently you can specify a fixed files size to split files in [menu: file>>split files]

suggestion: in addition to the file sizes, TC could offer to look for end of file (EOF) and begin of file markers and split the file accordingly.
(This would for example come in handy for embedded image thumbnails, cover art in mp3 tags, etc. )
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member

Post by *karlchen »

Hi, chrizoo.

I am not quite sure what you have in mind when using the term "EOF marker".

As far as I recall only pure ASCII files once upon a time, light years ago, used ^Z (ASCII 26) in order to mark the end of the file.
I never see this ^Z anywhere any longer.

And what is a "begin of file marker"?

Karl
chrizoo

Post by *chrizoo »

I'm not really an expert in this domain unfortunately. But I have a command line tool, that claims to do the following:

... looks through image files for a second SOI (start of image) marker. If it finds one, it copies that to a new file until it reaches an EOI marker.

That way, I can - for example extract all hidden thumbnails in an image. This could come in quite handy for other files, too. For example, there are often images in tagged music files (for example cover art in mp3 files).
I also once had a case, where I had to use a recovery program for a colleague's machine and some of the recovered files had some trash before and after the begin/end of file.

I don't know about ^Z etc. but I thought there might be one or more special character combinations to mark the beginning or end of file. And in this case TC could just split the file accordingly. For example:

[data chunk 1 -- BOF -- data chunk 2 -- EOF--BOF-- data chunk 3 -- EOF -- data chunk 4]

splitting to (different files):

[data chunk1]
[data chunk2]