This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC hangs when refresh network drive
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HAL9000
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:40 pm    Post subject: TC hangs when refresh network drive Reply with quote

hi,
i have a big problem with TC 7.50a.
Every time i connect a network drive (the drive is a pc shared folder) TC runs fine until i make first operation on files (move, compare, copy).
After this operation TC try to refresh the drive list but nothing happens and TC freezes

TC runs fine with local drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I cannot reproduce the problem. Which Windows version do you use?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HAL9000
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Unfortunately I cannot reproduce the problem. Which Windows version do you use?


I use Windows XP PRO Sp2.

When TC hangs,Windows runs fine and if i try to open network drive using several ways (start-run-x:\ ; or browsing the drive from my computer) everything works perfectly.

when TC hangs, the hourglass icon still remains.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HAL9000
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:06 am    Post subject: News Reply with quote

Hi,
i've found a workaround : while TC freezes, i press ESC repeatedly and TC returns alive.
The network drive list is not refreshed and some dirs seems disappeared but if i select again drive letter, TC shows me all files and dirs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you maybe press Spacebar? TC then counts all the files in the directory under the cursor, which can take a while. This can be aborted with ESC, that's why I ask.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
HAL9000
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Did you maybe press Spacebar? TC then counts all the files in the directory under the cursor, which can take a while. This can be aborted with ESC, that's why I ask.


No i do not press any key.
When syncro has finished the job, i have clicked the CLOSE button.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I have no other ideas of what could be your problem. Anyone else?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
micha.rotstein
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm experienceing the exact same problem since 7.50a (XP pro SP3) , pls help !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

micha.rotstein wrote:
I'm experienceing the exact same problem since 7.50a (XP pro SP3) , pls help !

Please describe what exactly you do, how your network is configured etc. Information is needed to reproduce and find error/issue.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
micha.rotstein
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I am used to have several tabs open which show direcotirs on different machines on our office LAN. Since upgrading to 7.50a TC hangs very often. It usually releases by itself after 1-3 minutes (!) during which it doesn not refresh it's display area and the title bar sometimes shows "(Not Responding)". The only thing I can do during the hanging time is close it. I am still not 100% sure this is network related but seems likely. This is exteremly frustrating. Any help ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like some kind of timeout with a non-responding network resource which Total Commander tries to access.

You should try to turn off some advanced functions, maybe one of them causes the problem:
1. Separate tree(s)
2. Overlay icons
3. Set icons to "All associated"
4. If 3 doesn't help, set icons to "Only standard"
5. Turn off "Auto-refresh when the file system changes" if enabled
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
RLa
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem on my PC, too.
If I work without separate tree(s) perfomance is much better and no more "freeze" happens.

I often uses network calls like \\<ip>\c$ or \\<computername>\c$ as sample. I'm using win xp pro with sp3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your report. What systems are the target machines?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
RLa
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Thanks for your report. What systems are the target machines?


The target machines are different VMWare virtual machines on 2 different VMWare Servers with MS Windows 2000 SP 4 and also Windows Server 2003 RC 2 Standard Edition.

Without VMWare, but same problem, Windows Server 2003 RC 2 Standard Edition.

The network is a 100 MBit LAN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34715
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I will make some tests with separate trees. Can you tell me what exactly you did when you got the hang? It must have caused a major refresh of the tree.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group