Deleting of locked folder bug

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
prokofyev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-03-24, 13:10 UTC

Deleting of locked folder bug

Post by *prokofyev » 2010-03-24, 13:23 UTC

Hello!

I found a small bug in TC 7.50a today. Steps to reproduce:

1. Create two sibling folders 1 and 2.
2. Start cmd.exe and change working dir to folder 1.
3. Select both folders in TC and try to remove them.
4. "The directory 1 could not be deleted" dialog appears.
5. In cmd.exe's window run "cd .." command to unlock folder 1.
6. Press "Retry" button.
7. TC removes folder 1 and leaves folder 2.

But it's expected both folders 1 and 2 should be removed on step 7.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-03-24, 21:31 UTC

This isn't a bug, it's a windows "feature": Windows doesn't allow to remove a directory if it is the current directory in just ONE running program.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8087
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-03-25, 04:50 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:This isn't a bug, it's a windows "feature": Windows doesn't allow to remove a directory if it is the current directory in just ONE running program.
No, he wants to say that TC doesn't delete unlocked folder "2" after retrying deletion of "1". Folder "2" is not locked at all but TC skips it.

prokofyev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-03-24, 13:10 UTC

Post by *prokofyev » 2010-03-25, 05:42 UTC

I unlock folder 1 on step 5, so TC deletes it on second try, but by unknown reason it cancels deletion of folder 2 which never was locked.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8087
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-03-25, 06:05 UTC

BTW, TC cancels deletion of all folders after locked even if user unlocks it and retries operation. If you create 1, 2, 3 folders and start CMD from first, TC will leave 2 and 3 after deleting 1.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-12-08, 16:13 UTC

This fix was confirmed in the beta forum, thanks!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

derekKinny
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-03, 03:37 UTC

Post by *derekKinny » 2011-01-03, 03:40 UTC

w w w.t o o L o n g P a t h .c o m saved me lot of time for solving this problem
derekKinny

Post Reply