Plugin: crash on entering QuickView, Win7 only

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Plugin: crash on entering QuickView, Win7 only

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-19, 19:09 UTC

Syn2 plugin. totalcmd.net

When entering several times QView mode with syn,
I get TC crash. Win7 (x32,x64) only, XP works ok.

First time entering QView i may see syn, but next time QView crashes. I ve found a line in code, ReadOnly:=true;- if I comment it (or make ReadOnly:=false) then QView works. But I *need readonly in QView.
Crash not in ReadOnly assignment.

C.G.: maybe TC bug?
Last edited by Alextp on 2010-06-19, 19:13 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-19, 19:10 UTC

same in TC 7.55.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-06-20, 08:55 UTC

I cannot reproduce it with other plugins. Do you get any error dialog with an error address?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-20, 09:49 UTC

Just got "app crashed" dialog (address there?)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-06-21, 10:38 UTC

You mean the dialog from Windows? While it is shown, please go to the TEMP directory with this command (from a second copy of Totalcmd):
cd %temp%

There should be a *.dmp file (maybe in a new subdir) which would be sent to Microsoft. Please send me this file (zipped) to support at ghisler dot com, so I can analyze it. Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-25, 16:11 UTC

yes, Windows dialog.
Cannot send *.dmp file, as i cannot find it in temp- there's some msdtadmin folder which i cannot enter at all (TC shows "Cannot execute tcmadmin.exe" and cannot enter- this tcmadmin.exe does exist in TC folder) and no dmp files.

//so pls, reproduce it in Win7

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-06-27, 14:04 UTC

When you get the Windows error dialog, you can get details about the report. In the technical details, it should show which files will be sent to Microsoft. This should show you the location of the dmp file.

Btw, do you have write rights to the directory where syn2 is installed? There are several plugins which crash when they don't have write rights to their own folder.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-27, 14:43 UTC

it should show which files will be sent to Microsoft
it doesn't. http://yfrog.com/cbclipboard01vp
No location of files. (even in Details)

Plugin does have write access to folder

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-06-27, 16:06 UTC

What is shown when you click on the button which points downwards ("More information" or so)?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-27, 16:36 UTC

>>Signature:
name of event- Appcrash
name of app- Totalcmd.exe
version- 7.5.5.0
timestamp app- 2a425e19
module wth error- kernel32.dll
ver of module- 6.1.7600.16385
timestamp of module- 4a5bdaad
exception code- c0000005
exception offset- 0004f086
ver Os- 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
lang- 1049
add data1... add data4

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-27, 16:39 UTC

('add data' vary each time I crash)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2010-06-28, 13:12 UTC

Hmm, these "add data" lines point to attachments. I guess that you can find out the location by running "process monitor" and checking what files it accesses.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-06-30, 09:29 UTC

hm, I guess they're just NNNN / NNNNNNNNNNNNNN strings (numbers, hex). No points to attachments. No button "Send to MS" too

Btw. UnrealCmd runs Syn2 w/o this crash (also QView)

User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp » 2010-07-16, 13:58 UTC

I dont see crash, currently(but didnt change it...)

Post Reply