Search shows -- file not found

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-06-10, 09:27 UTC
Location: India

Search shows -- file not found

Post by *krushna » 2010-06-24, 11:11 UTC

Respected Sir,

Although the files exists on my pc (the search as u type feature) displays --"file not found" message for most of the rar,
jpeg,7zip files and for some exe files too.


Krushna -- krushna

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-06-24, 11:48 UTC

Check Configuration - Quick Search options. Maybe you're trying to enter middle part of name but you have 'search from beginning' option set.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2010-06-24, 22:55 UTC

2krushna
the search as u type feature
Do you mean the Quick search feature or the Auto-complete path (for example in the command line) feature?

I have never seen a "file not found" message using either of those functions - maybe you are referring to something different? Could you please tell us, step by step, what you do to get this "file not found" message?

Dear sir/madam - it would be very convenient to the rest of the forum users if you started to express your questions in proper full sentences. Also try to use the vucabularium that is used in TC when you refer to a function or feature - that is for example to write "Quick search" in stead of "the search as u type feature" - in that way we'll have a mutual reference frame - instead of having to constantly guess what you mean.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-06-10, 09:27 UTC
Location: India

Post by *krushna » 2010-06-26, 07:49 UTC

yes i have tested it 3 times it doesnt works

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2010-06-26, 08:26 UTC

Input field below file panels is NOT a quick search field but command line field so you should not type into it filenames you need to find.

Yes, if you like explorer style, you can tweak quick search to accept just letters w/o midifier but this behaviour is not standard for file manager.

Also you may add to buttonbar (or assign to any hotkey) cm_ShowQuickSearch command to show quick search window.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2010-06-26, 15:00 UTC

yes i have tested it 3 times it doesnt works
I have used Quick search more than 10000 times over several years, and I can assure you that it works!

Are you sure you are not trying to use the command line as input for Quick search, as MVV suspects?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply