This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

F2 for renaming doesn't works

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:15 am    Post subject: F2 for renaming doesn't works Reply with quote

sir,

F2 for renaming file's doesn't works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In TC by default F2 rereads panel contents.

Just open Configuration, Misc and bind cm_RenameOnly to F2.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2krushna
Why do you think that F2 should work for renaming files?
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
krushna
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to bind cm_RenameOnly in misc,explain detailedly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Configuration - Options, Misc.
2. In 'Redefine hotkeys' choose F2 key, then click on magnify glass to the right from Command field and choose cm_RenameOnly from list (you can type part of command name to filter items). Click OK.
3. Click green check mark button to the right from magnify glass button.
4. Enjoy!
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 1835
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2krushna
Try to use Hotkeys Editor
1- select a command
2- define desired hotkey
3- press Enter or click on green check mark
_________________
Author of Ultra TC Editors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or add this to your wincmd.ini file:

[Shortcuts]
F2=cm_RenameSingleFile

If you already have a [Shortcuts] section in wincmd.ini, then just add F2=cm_RenameSingleFile to the section.

I expect that you want F2 to behave exactly as in Explorer, that is why it is better to use cm_RenameSingleFile than cm_RenameOnly, which can also rename multiple selected files - in contrary to Explorer.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petermad wrote:
I expect that you want F2 to behave exactly as in Explorer, that is why it is better to use cm_RenameSingleFile than cm_RenameOnly, which can also rename multiple selected files - in contrary to Explorer.

Have you tried to press F2 when multiple files selected in Explorer? It renames all of them! Very Happy So it is better not to use F2 in Explorer when multiple files selected at all.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Have you tried to press F2 when multiple files selected in Explorer? It renames all of them!


Yes, I did try, but I didn't carry it out - which I should have Embarassed .

I only saw that the last selected filename was opened for editing (just like inline renaming in TC), and assumed that only that file would be renamed.

But you are right! - all the other selected files gets renamed too - getting the same name with an index number. Explorer gives no warning about this, and wildcards can't be used like in TC - what a stupid implementation!
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blc
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the difference between cm_RenameSingleFile and cm_RenameOnly? It seems both work the same for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7915
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blc, try to select some files and execute theese commands. Wink
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blc
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did try, but with one file only (which is my typical use of Shift+F6).

OK, I see it now. Thanks. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group