This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC+Sandboxie bug

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arcanez
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject: TC+Sandboxie bug Reply with quote

hey,

I made myself some shortcuts in the buttonbar like cmd.exe, mmc.exe for services, devicemanager etc. Usually explorer.exe has something to do with the startup of the program when I click on the shortcut. Now when I sandbox any folder a second explorer.exe will be started in the taskmanager. So at that time I have two explorer.exe in the taskmanager (the normal one+the sandbox explorer.exe). Now when I use my device manager shortcut in the total commander the sandbox-explorer.exe forces mmc.exe to run sandboxed but mmc.exe won't do that. So at that time my computer goes mad and the hourglass at the cursor pops up all the time but nothing happens. Those processes (sandbox-explorer.exe and mmc.exe) have an endless fight it seems and the only thing to stop this is killing all sandboxie processes.

But the weakness that causes this bug is in the total commander. The problem is that TC chooses the explorer.exe for the buttonbar/shortcuts dependant on the window/tab you have focussed in the TC. If you have the focus on a normal windows folder in TC your shortcuts will be opened with the normal explorer.exe. But if you have the focus on a sandboxed folder it seems shortcuts or everything you open in buttonbar will be opened with the sandbox-explorer.exe which can cause problems like with my mmc.exe shortcuts.

The bug can be reproduced easily

greetings,

Arcanez
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 7859
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC does nothing about sandboxes, so it is not a TC fault.

Anyway the thing described by you it is a Sandboxie feature. If you start program from folder in a sandbox, it starts this program in that sandbox. If your button doesn't have start path set, TC uses specifies current folder as start path. You may try to set start path explicitly in button properties (e.g. C:\) to prevent TC to start program from your current folder.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group