[b23 x64] Show fileinfo. Bug on some files

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

[b23 x64] Show fileinfo. Bug on some files

Post by *gora » 2012-03-18, 16:52 UTC

When viewing the file info (Ctrl + Q) for some of the files, the TC error:

Code: Select all

--------------------------- 
Total Commander 8.0Я23 
--------------------------- 
Access violation. 
Access violation 
Windows 7 SP1 6.1 (Build 7601) 

Please report this error to the Author, with a description 
of what you were doing when this error occurred! 

Stack trace (x64):41FDB2 
84B4F4 84AD6C 84BA25 6987B3 699EB5 7AC787 7AC7BD 7ACAA3 
7AC9EC 7AF7D3 40F34D 7B7630 7ABCF3 89381F 7E9C60 88D322 

Press Ctrl+C to copy this report! 
Continue execution? 
--------------------------- 
Да   Нет    
--------------------------- 
Plugin installed fileinfo v2.21 [x64]

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8291
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-03-18, 17:11 UTC

I get the same error with the hidcon.exe file in http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35142695/hidcon_sl2_120318_14-29.7z

But it is not a fault of the FileInfo plugin, because I get the same error when I use a fresh wincmd.ini file, hence without any plugins.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64) and TC 3.0b3 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 784
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra » 2012-03-18, 23:19 UTC

Actually, looks like any file containing a text, that resembles a PE header causes this error. For example, try to create a simple .txt file with text "MZ" and Mac EOL (or 4D5A0D in hex).
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-03-19, 14:04 UTC

Seems to be a bug of fileinfo, see:
http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=240477#240477
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

Post by *gora » 2012-03-19, 14:08 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Seems to be a bug of fileinfo
No.
Bug is present in TC with a clean ini file without plug-ins

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-03-19, 14:14 UTC

But you write yourself:
Plugin installed fileinfo v2.21 [x64]
Edit: I have just started TC x64 with a fresh ini and viewed hidcon.exe with F3, no crash.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

Post by *gora » 2012-03-19, 14:19 UTC

Yes, I so wrote. But after posts 2 and 3 I have repeatedly checked up TC with a clean ini file without plug-in FileInfo - the bug is present

User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

Post by *gora » 2012-03-19, 14:22 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:viewed hidcon.exe with F3, no crash.
Not F3. Press Ctrl+Q, please.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-03-19, 14:27 UTC

Sorry, I only tried F3 - it's not the same as Ctrl+Q, where TC also tries to find readme.txt and similar files in archives. Apparently the file is detected as an archive by mistake. Try Ctrl+PageDown, you will get the same error.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

Post by *gora » 2012-03-19, 14:34 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Try Ctrl+PageDown, you will get the same error.
Yes, I confirm

User avatar
gora
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: 2010-12-17, 10:37 UTC
Location: Russian

Post by *gora » 2012-03-30, 10:46 UTC

Problem is solved, thank

umbra
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 784
Joined: 2012-01-14, 20:41 UTC

Post by *umbra » 2012-03-30, 12:02 UTC

Confirmed, it doesn't crash anymore.
Windows 7 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64, Windows 10 Pro x64

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8291
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2012-03-30, 14:41 UTC

I can confirm that quickView works with test file http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35142695/hidcon_sl2_120318_14-29.7z in TC 8.0b24 x64 :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64) and TC 3.0b3 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37170
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2012-04-02, 13:25 UTC

Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply