FTP moving file issue

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
john2003tw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-06-24, 00:29 UTC
Location: Taiwan

FTP moving file issue

Post by *john2003tw » 2014-06-24, 00:40 UTC

1. Start TC with normal window (not maximized)
2. connect to FTP site on panel 1
3. On the panel 2, select a file
4. Hit "F6Move" button, to "move" (upload) the file.
5. After completion of upload, the original file are still in the directoy of panel 2 .

I expect the uploaded file shall be removed, which is normal "move" function.

or, the file in the panel 2 shall be kept selected for manual deleting.
However, after upload, the file is automatically dis-selected.

Tested with TC 8.51a, tcm851ax32_64.exe on Windows 7 ( x64)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36554
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-06-26, 10:10 UTC

Move is not supported from/to ftp. Why? If you move files in the wrong mode, e.g. binary files as text, the target will be unusable and the source will be gone. It's just too risky.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

john2003tw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-06-24, 00:29 UTC
Location: Taiwan

Post by *john2003tw » 2014-06-26, 11:24 UTC

Then, alternatively, just keep the orginally selected files in selected mode. A user can decide if to remove or not.

whenever, partial files in a directory uploaded are automatically dis-selected. I need to figure out which I have not uploaded and which I have done the upload.

By the way,your Android version can done move with removing orignal files.

thanks,
John

john2003tw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-06-24, 00:29 UTC
Location: Taiwan

Post by *john2003tw » 2014-06-27, 15:21 UTC

just clarify , using WebDav plug in to move files. the original file is removed after completed.

using FTP plug in, it doesnot remove.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36554
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2014-06-30, 09:55 UTC

Then, alternatively, just keep the orginally selected files in selected mode. A user can decide if to remove or not.
You can re-select them with the "/" key on the numeric keypad.
just clarify , using WebDav plug in to move files. the original file is removed after completed.
WebDAV doesn't support text transfer mode, just binary.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

john2003tw
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-06-24, 00:29 UTC
Location: Taiwan

Post by *john2003tw » 2014-07-01, 01:08 UTC

Thanks, it works.

Post Reply