This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

String 1537 not displayed correct under Windows 7 (64bit)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:12 pm    Post subject: String 1537 not displayed correct under Windows 7 (64bit) Reply with quote

In TC 8.51a x64 the string 1537="History (Alt+Down)" is not displayed correctly when hovering the History button - it only shows "History".

If I change the string to "History (alt+Down)" (lowercase a in Alt) the the full string is shown.

This only happens under Window 7 - not under Windows 8.1, and only with 64bit TC.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 753
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't confirm. My configuration is exactly as yours (English versions of both TC and Win7x64)
_________________
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/history.png - This is with a clean ini file.

I also just testet it on another Windows 7 PC, and I can still reproduce it.

Also testet it on another Windows 8.1 PC - no bug there.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you change the string? I don't see an English language file in the TC installation packages (only menu file) *confused*.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 753
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Image: http://imagehost.spark-media.ru/i4/1A5F8D3E-0618-C49D-76F1-7CA5E84C7E1D.jpg
Image: http://imagehost.spark-media.ru/i4/112C6B87-5064-C660-DB68-6A2A892B31B9.jpg
Image: http://imagehost.spark-media.ru/i4/3DB610C2-196F-3F87-B988-6C870BB3EAE8.jpg
I swear Smile that both 32- and 64-bit versions work the same way.
I suppose you have the Danish windows version. It seems to be the only difference between our configurations. Can it be the cause?
_________________
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I don't see an English language file in the TC installation packages (only menu file) *confused*.


http://ghisler.fileburst.com/languages/wcmd_eng.zip

Quote:
It seems to be the only difference between our configurations. Can it be the cause


No I tink it is a theme problem - could you try to switch to an Aero theme in stead of Classic theme - if I switch to Classic theme I don't have the bug either.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petermad wrote:
Quote:
I don't see an English language file in the TC installation packages (only menu file) *confused*.


http://ghisler.fileburst.com/languages/wcmd_eng.zip

Ah, I see.

Quote:
No I tink it is a theme problem - could you try to switch to an Aero theme in stead of Classic theme - if I switch to Classic theme I don't have the bug either.

It seems to be theme related, but I couldn't reproduce it, neither with Aero Glass nor Aero Basic (I tested in VMware with a clean .ini file and TC 8.51a 64 bit).

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 1835
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cannot confirm!

* TC 8.51a x64 (clean ini)
* Microsoft Windows x64 NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
* Aero theme enabled
_________________
Author of Ultra TC Editors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I found the culprit - my Theme is customized - here's what triggers it - To reproduce:

1. Open Windows Control Panel -> Personalization (right click on Desktop -> Personalize)
2. Choose "Aero Themes" -> "Windows 7"
3. Click on "Window Color" in the bottom of the dialog window
4. Click on "Advanced appearance settings..."
5. In the "Item" dropdown field choose "Tooltip"
6. Choose "Arial" as font in stead of "Segoe UI"
7. Click "OK"
8. If TC is running - restart TC, otherwise just start TC - now the bug should be visible...

It happens with several but not all fonts. It happens with for example: Calibri, MS Sans Serif, Franklin Gothic Book, Microsoft Sans Serif, Times New Roman and Trebuchet MS, but for example not with Verdana or Tahoma - Remember to restart TC between testing fonts.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 1835
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2petermad

Confirmed with your steps!
_________________
Author of Ultra TC Editors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7331
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2ts4242

Thanks Smile
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I can confirm that, too. There are some more tooltips that are not completely visible, e.g. the ones of the "Show" buttons of the Synchronize directories dialog (words "left" and "right" are missing). It even messes with the German tooltips. Guess, this might be some bug in Lazarus.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34739
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could someone test this with TC 8.52 beta 1, please? The problem is theme-related.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sky66
Member
Member


Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was NOT fixed in TC 8.52 beta 1.

My solution is add some space " " in the string 1537.
It works in TC 8.51~8.52 beta 1


Original:
1537="History (Alt+Down)"

Workaround solution:
1537="History (Alt+Down) "

(" " *5, but it can not shown in the forum)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5724
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I confirm this issue is still in TC 8.52b1 x64. I can still reproduce it using petermad's steps above, at least with TC set to English language (either internal or external).

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group