This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Internal context menu: wrong WCX used or wrong info from TC

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:23 pm    Post subject: Internal context menu: wrong WCX used or wrong info from TC Reply with quote

To reproduce:
0. Start TC with clean (default) main settings ini.
1. Install 7zip plugin registered to 7z extension and Total7zip plugin registered for total7zip extension, then make an internal association by instruction from this post. Or, just use Configuration, Change ini files directly, put following custom settings into default wincmd.ini:
Code:
[PackerPlugins]
7z=C:\your\path\to\7z.wcx
total7zip=C:\your\path\to\Total7zip.wcx
[Associations]
Filter1=*.7z
Filter1_total7zip=**total7zip

Save file and close it.
2. Restart TC with this ini to make sure changed settings will be applied.
3. Find *.7z archive, use its context menu item "total7zip". TC will open archive.
4. Press Alt+Enter inside archive on some file, in its properties you'll see field "Packer: 7z". If "Packer:" field doesn't lie here, it is an indication that wcx plugin registered for 7z extension in [PackerPlugins] used when total7zip menu called.
Expected behaviour:
ghisler(Author) wrote:
If you open a file via **total7zip verb, TC should then use total7zip and not other unpacker defined for that extension.

_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7665
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Press Alt+Enter inside archive on some file, in its properties you'll see field "Packer: 7z"


I think that field indicates the archive type of the packed file - NOT what kind of application that is currently opening it...
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b2 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

petermad wrote:
Quote:
Press Alt+Enter inside archive on some file, in its properties you'll see field "Packer: 7z"


I think that field indicates the archive type of the packed file - NOT what kind of application that is currently opening it...
No. Just install one wcx plugin: total7zip, registered for total7zip extension and the field will be "Packer: total7zip". Or if you don't have plugins, just open 7z archive with Enter key and you will see "Packer:7zip (dll)", an indication that internal unpacker used.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gral
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Internal context menu: wrong WCX used or wrong info from Reply with quote

 

This bug was reported over 4 years ago -> http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=220345#220345 but no reply from Ghisler.
(I noticed this behaviour myself too, and i use workaround all this time!)

 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is just a minor display error. Sorry, I will not spend hours and hours on that. It's also debatable whether this is the right thing to show - currently the dialog is independent, it just checks what plugin is responsible by default for a certain file.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
This is just a minor display error. Sorry, I will not spend hours and hours on that. It's also debatable whether this is the right thing to show - currently the dialog is independent, it just checks what plugin is responsible by default for a certain file.
I can't agree that it's just a display error. In example from start post, change path to 7zip.wcx to some non-existing location, so it will be like that:
Code:
[PackerPlugins]
7z=C:\fictional\path\to\7z.wcx
total7zip=C:\real\path\to\Total7zip.wcx

When using context menu item "total7zip", TC will show following error:
Code:
---------------------------
Total Commander
---------------------------
Error, could not load plugin!

C:\fictional\path\7z.wcx
---------------------------
ОК   
---------------------------

_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Internal context menu: wrong WCX used or wrong info from Reply with quote

2Gral
Gral wrote:
This bug was reported over 4 years ago -> http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=220345#220345 ... and i use workaround all this time!
What workaround did you mean? Like changing file extension (*.msi2 example in the post from your link)?
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

history.txt wrote:
27.04.16 Fixed: Internal associations: Allow to override also internal unpackers with **packerplugin, e.g. for 7z, not only define additional extensions (32/64)
Seems to be fixed in 9.0, although I'd like to see some improvements.
Test configuration:
Code:
[Associations]
Filter1=*.7z
Filter1_Total7zip=**Total7zip
Filter1_InternalTC7ZDLL=**TC7ZDLL
[PackerPlugins]
7z=207,c:\test\7z.wcx
total7zip=735,C:\test\Total7zip.wcx
TC7ZDLL=c:\totalcmd\TC7Z.DLL

Here TC 9.0 allows to use Internal Context menu items for second and later filters set in [Associations]: they work if they are valid wcx unpackers and the info in "Packer:"field from Alt+Enter window is correct.
The things I'd like to see improved:
1. Currently there in no Internal context menu item for Filter1=*.7z from [Associations]. It just works with Enter or Ctrl+PgDn. I'd like to see "Default (*.7z)" as a first context menu item.
2. I tried to add an internal TC7Z.DLL as the unpacker for internal context menu as last item (see example config above), but when tried to use it, TC showed an error:
Code:
---------------------------
Total Commander
---------------------------
Error, could not load plugin!

c:\totalcmd\TC7Z.DLL
---------------------------
ОК   
---------------------------

Is there a way to use to use internal 7zip unpacker as a wcx plugin? If no, can this be added to TC7Z.DLL in future?
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you can't use internal 7zip unpacker when using a 7zip plugin. What would be the benefit? It can't do more than the plugin...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
No, you can't use internal 7zip unpacker when using a 7zip plugin. What would be the benefit? It can't do more than the plugin...
Internal unpacker is expected to be more stable.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group