Tabs, profiles and behavior

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
TexMex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-03-29, 21:56 UTC

Tabs, profiles and behavior

Post by *TexMex »

Hi,
Great piece of software I'm using since... long ago... Thank you.

I'm a "stacker". It means I do several things like Photography, 3D graphics, code etc...

The thing is when I do photography I create X tabs set to the directories I want. Then if I change for Code, I set up another set of tabs, etc... I usually end up with a lot of tabs and I must remove some of them to see something. I feel i'm not the only one in that case.

My suggestion is:
What about a profile set up ? Let's say I open all the tabs I want and I save the current tabs list (and directories) it into a file that I can reload when necessary for Activity A. Same goes for B and C etc.

When i load a profile, TC close every tabs and open new ones according to the file content.

In this case I would be able to switch from activity A to B in a instant.



Secondly: I don't know if it's a bug or just the way it is.
When you use a little filer (like Synology), it puts the disks on hibernation when its not used. When the system asks for the mounted directories (refresh) it waits until it's ready again.

In that case TC will wait the same if a tab points on a mounted directory. But you can't use it during that time. And if it fails (timeout) the tab goes back to C:

It would be nice to be able not to be stuck with the "waiting panel".

Remove the panel and only draw a refresh icon in the tab (or in the directory window). So you can still use it with other tabs that are not depending on a mounted directory.



I hope it'll be useful, thanks again.
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8240
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

Ad 1: This has been possible for years. Use the commands OPENTABS and SAVETABS on a button (button bar) or TC's Start menu. Or just right-click on the tabs and select "Save tabs to file" or "Save tabs on both sides to file" to save them, and one of the "Load tabs from file" options to load them later.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
milo1012
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: 2012-02-02, 19:23 UTC

Post by *milo1012 »

Dalai wrote:Use the commands OPENTABS and SAVETABS on a button (button bar) or TC's Start menu...
The SAVETABS command doesn't actually exist.
It's confirmed for TC 9 though.
TC plugins: PCREsearch and RegXtract
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8240
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai »

2milo1012
Oops, you're right. Wishful thinking, I guess. Should've written APPENDTABS.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
yahuu
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2015-01-15, 03:19 UTC

Post by *yahuu »

shula
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2009-06-12, 07:30 UTC

Re: Tabs, profiles and behavior

Post by *shula »

@yahuu this link is broken. what was supposed to be there?
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5195
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Tabs, profiles and behavior

Post by *Horst.Epp »

shula wrote: 2022-05-19, 16:36 UTC @yahuu this link is broken. what was supposed to be there?
Why do you respond to 6 year old post
for an absolute out of date TC version.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.1042)
TC 10.51 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1319a (x64)
Post Reply