This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TC4A hang on try to play web track with no internet

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander for Android Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:21 am    Post subject: TC4A hang on try to play web track with no internet Reply with quote

This happened on 2 devices I tried, and was reported by email. Christian can't reproduce this on own devices, and logs from my devices didn't help to find out the reason of the hang.

To reproduce a hang, a device with Stagefright Android bug is required.

Steps to reproduce:
1) disable (turn off) all internet connections (like Wi-Fi or mobile data) on device;
2) add some internet track to TC Media Player queue. It may be done by opening (by click in TC panel or using Load playlist from player) the playlist (xspf/m3u/m3u8/pls) with a track located on http(s) link;
3) start playing the track by a tap on it in TC Media Player playlist;
4) TC will show Stagefright "severe video bug" warning.
Tap on "Yes" there to agree to play a track. TC may hang then.
5) If TC didn't hang in previous step, repeat steps 3 and 4 again.
TC then hangs with "severe video bug" warning still opened.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matixx
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 769
Location: ....

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to add a http track to Playlist?

Could you give an example please.

Greets
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Save following as playlist.xspf (it's the UTF-8+BOM text file):
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<playlist xmlns="http://xspf.org/ns/0/" version="1">
  <title/>
  <creator/>
  <trackList>
    <track>
      <location>http://example.com:8080/track</location>
      <title>Test Artist - Test Title</title>
      <annotation>Annotation</annotation>
      <info>http://example.com</info>
    </track>
  </trackList>
</playlist>

Then either in TC for Android click on a file to open it, or in TC Media Player open it using "Load playlist" button.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC 2.81 beta 12 What's New (Google Play) wrote:
- MediaPlayer: Warn when trying to play a stream when there is no Internet connection
Thanks, like I wrote in email this new dialog doesn't cause hangs on my devices anymore. Hope this dialog will be improved further in later versions, so it will offer a way either permanently or for TC Media Player session to auto skip internet tracks and play just local files of queue playlist while there is no internet connection.

Do you still interested in reports about hangs of "severe video bug" warning that may happen with no internet on TC versions older than 2.81 beta 12 on Android devices not used for current testing?
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35767
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, because I have no means to fix it. It probably happens deep in the Android MediaPlayer implementation of your device. That's why I added this workaround, which is useful also for other users.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander for Android All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group