Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
browny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 205
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *browny »

1. In MS DOS times some programs could change button texts in the bottom bar row (F3 - F8) when Alt, Ctrl or Shift button(s) were pressed. Norton Commander v3.0, for one.
Maybe that was already suggested, and considered unnecessary for experienced users.

2. Sometimes it might be convenient to do file operations with a mouse, and then keyboard state could be taken into account for GUI buttons.
For example, the standard horizontal bar has "Invert selection" button. It duplicates the function of a Grey* key. Shift+Grey* inverts selection with subdirectories, but Shift+click "Invert selection" now is still unmodified "Invert selection" action.
The bottom bar buttons that duplicate funcion keys, could be affected too.
Last edited by browny on 2019-03-22, 12:13 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11677
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Keaboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *Hacker »

browny,
Too many translations and users can remap hotkeys. Even now they are not accurate when users remap e.g. F6. The names of all TC internal commands would need to be translated.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3705
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Keaboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *Horst.Epp »

There is a too which does what you want but its rather complicated to setup.
ButtonBar Extended viewtopic.php?t=20274
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.836)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.983 (x64)

browny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 205
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Re: Keaboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *browny »

Hacker wrote:
2019-01-06, 15:03 UTC
Even now they are not accurate when users remap e.g. F6.
Then the feature would not spoil the already existing mess. :)
Horst.Epp wrote:
2019-01-06, 17:53 UTC
There is a too which does what you want but its rather complicated to setup.
Thanks, but the idea is to have this as a built-in feature.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9597
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *petermad »

2browny
There are come internal command that are aware of some modifier keys when clicking on Button bar, Menu item or Function key buttons:
cm_List is aware of Shift or Alt pressed
cm_Edit is aware of Shift pressed
cm_Copy is aware of Shift or Ctrl pressed
cm_RenMov is aware of Shift pressed
cm_Delete is aware of Shift pressed
cm_PackFiles is aware of Ctrl pressed
SELECTFILES is aware of Shift pressed

There might be others...?

I support that at least the text on the Function key buttons changes according to the pressed modifier key, when the botton is hovered.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

browny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 205
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Re: Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *browny »

petermad wrote:
2019-03-23, 01:37 UTC
I support that at least the text on the Function key buttons changes according to the pressed modifier key, when the botton is hovered.
Button text acts as a hint; therefore it should not be restricted to mouse hovering only.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9597
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *petermad »

2browny
Button text acts as a hint; therefore it should not be restricted to mouse hovering only.
But you may press Shift, Ctrl or Alt for many other reasons than wanting to click on one of the 7 Function key buttons, so there would be a lot of unnecessary flickering of the button text, if just pressing one of those modifier keys should cause the button text to change.

I know that Norton Commander or Volkov Commander acted in the way you describe - but you almost never used the mouse in those file managers (at least I didn't), so hovering the button wasn't really an option back then.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

browny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 205
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Re: Keyboard shift state and GUI buttons

Post by *browny »

petermad wrote:
2019-03-24, 14:38 UTC
I know that Norton Commander or Volkov Commander acted in the way you describe - but you almost never used the mouse in those file managers (at least I didn't), so hovering the button wasn't really an option back then.
So to get a hint you first press a key, then move mouse to hover over the button to read the function, then to another button - or try another key combination, if that was not the function you needed. Where is convenience and usability in that?

As for mentioned "flickering", there hardly would be any with today's processors and graphics adapters - unless someone would tap modifier keys many times a second.

Post Reply