shortcut for active address bar in total commander

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Eakins263
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-06-29, 04:10 UTC

shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *Eakins263 » 2019-06-29, 04:13 UTC

I use Total Commander as file manager tools and I'm beginner in it. I have a problem: When I want change current directory and enter custom address in address bar, I must click at address bar by mouse then enter my address deleted. I want know there is any shortcut for active address bar without mouse or what define it?





User modified his post to add a Spam URL >> spam removed >> User banned

Please help us and report such post (see the [!] button) if you find them on browsing the forum, thanks.




[MTAG]
Last edited by Eakins263 on 2019-07-01, 11:05 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 790
Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *Vochomurka » 2019-06-29, 06:12 UTC

I suppose you mean "current directory" by "active address bar". If so, RTFM:
TC help, 'Command line parameters' topic wrote:totalcmd.exe [/o] [/n] [Drive1:\Directory1 [Drive2:\Directory2]] [/i=name.ini] [/f=ftpname.ini]
...
/L= Set path in left window
/R= Set path right window
...
Examples:

totalcmd.exe c:\windows left window is loaded with c:\windows
You can assign to button bar(s) and/or hotkeys as many such commands (or "shortcuts") as you need.
Enjoy!
Single user license #329241
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-06-29, 07:32 UTC

2Eakins263, hello and welcome to the community.

Eakins263 wrote:
2019-06-29, 04:13 UTC
I have a problem:
When I want change current directory and enter custom address in address bar, I must click at address bar by mouse then enter my address.
I want know there is any shortcut for active address bar without mouse or what define it?

way 1:
- Pos1-key (or: "Home"-key as Hacker pointed out) to jump to '..' at the top of the list
- Use the rename file command (SHIFT+F6) to "rename" the path



way 2:
There is a internal command "cm_EditPath" to put the focus on the address bar.
You can assign an keyboard shortcut to that command, like 'Alt+P'
Or Ctrl+L like with Web Browsers or F4 like with Windows Explorer to edit address bar.

Modify the wincmd.ini
[Shortcuts]
A+P=cm_EditPath ;'Alt+P' put focus on 'Path box'.




HTH? :D
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 790
Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *Vochomurka » 2019-06-29, 09:24 UTC

2Stefan2
As I understood, the question was about how to navigate not using the path field.

I've written the article about navigation in TC. But I doubt you can read Russian, so, in brief:
1) HotDirMenu (Ctrl+D);
2) Buttonbar button with the "cd path" command (dragging);
3) History (Alt+Down);
4) [/] (cm_GoToRoot) and [..] (cm_GoToParent) commands (see above);
5) cm_GotoDriveA ... cm_GotoDriveZ, cm_GotoPreviousDrive, cm_GotoNextDrive commands;
6) Separate directory tree;
7) CD tree (cm_CDtree) Alt+F10;
8] My scripts;
9) "cd path" in command line;
10) Breadcrumb bar;
11) Local url-file;
12) cm_OpenDesktop and similar commands;
13) and many-many more...
Single user license #329241
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11357
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *Hacker » 2019-06-29, 11:24 UTC

Stefan2,
Pos1-key
"Home" on English keyboards.

Vochomurka,
As I understood, the question was about how to navigate not using the path field.
Eakins263 wrote:I want know there is any shortcut for active address bar without mouse
HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8818
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: shortcut for active address bar in total commander

Post by *petermad » 2019-06-30, 08:18 UTC

2Eakins263
You can assign a shortcut (hotkey) to the command cm_EditPath it will open the address bar.

You assign hotkeys under Configuration -> Options -> Misc.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b3 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply