Allowing External DIFF application in File Synch

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply

Would this feature help you also?

Yes
48
80%
No
12
20%
 
Total votes: 60

delware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-02-23, 15:08 UTC

Allowing External DIFF application in File Synch

Post by *delware » 2005-03-21, 14:53 UTC

I have been using TC exclusively since 1996. I LOVE this program and there's no way I could do what I need to do daily without it. Recently a very strong need has come up that is not currently addressed in TC. I have to be able to run an external DIFF application on files that are not equal from the Directory Synch window so I can merge and edit the files (using CompareIT!) from that view. Currently I have to print the window results, close the Synch pane, and one by one, find, re-diff, edit, save then re-synch the Dirs. On a file tree with some 1,500 files and 300+ directories, this is arduous. PLEASE give me the ability to tell TC to run an external Diff when right-clicking in the File Synch menu!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2005-03-21, 20:07 UTC

It's already on my wish list. The reason why it's not implemented yet is because it's quite complex to add, just because the external compare tools can modify the files!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

borisjg
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005-06-02, 11:32 UTC
Location: de

Post by *borisjg » 2005-06-02, 11:38 UTC

well, any kind of merge would be better than none. Even if it would not be available in archives or would not be compatible with some external diff/merge tools. I'm looking forward to see when this feature moves from your wish list to to-do list :wink:

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *MPS » 2006-01-25, 13:13 UTC

interesting feature, but i can't think of any use for myself.

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog » 2006-01-25, 13:37 UTC

Just to your information:

There is already a workaround. Using this AutoHotkey script allows to run from internal filecompare with F2 an external filecompare Application (example for Beyond compare and winmerge included).

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

brillianxe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-11-27, 15:20 UTC
Location: China
Contact:

Using Start menu to solve it

Post by *brillianxe » 2009-11-27, 15:27 UTC

You can add an item in Start menu.
The commander of it is "...\Program Files\Beyond Compare\BCompare.exe"
The parameter of it is "%p %t"
Just try it.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11002
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2009-11-27, 21:59 UTC

brillianxe,
wincmd.ini
[Configuration]
Comparetool=c:\Program Files\Beyond Compare\BCompare.exe

Just try it. ;)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

ThiefMaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 2003-10-27, 16:49 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ThiefMaster » 2010-01-26, 14:03 UTC

An option to create an unified diff would be awesome - especially if you could choose which files you want to include and which not.

cubic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: 2007-07-18, 12:21 UTC

Post by *cubic » 2013-01-13, 21:14 UTC

Hacker wrote:brillianxe,
wincmd.ini
[Configuration]
Comparetool=c:\Program Files\Beyond Compare\BCompare.exe

Just try it. ;)

Roman

like a charm :)

raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc » 2014-06-25, 09:33 UTC

Is it possible to use Beyond Compare also to compare folders?
(TC-->Commands-->Synchronize dirs)

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3036
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2014-06-25, 10:13 UTC

raytc wrote:Is it possible to use Beyond Compare also to compare folders?
(TC-->Commands-->Synchronize dirs)
Beyond Compare can already be used for comparing folders from TC
but not inside of Synchronize dirs.

raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc » 2014-06-25, 12:26 UTC

Yes I know.

It would be nice if you can select
- a folder in the left panel
- a folder in the right panel

and switching to Beyond Compare clicking "Sychronize dirs"

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3036
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2014-06-25, 13:18 UTC

raytc wrote:Yes I know.

It would be nice if you can select
- a folder in the left panel
- a folder in the right panel

and switching to Beyond Compare clicking "Sychronize dirs"
But this can be accomplished using a button for Beyond compare with the selected dirs as parameters. What would be the benefit having this in the Synchronize dirs ?

raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc » 2014-06-25, 13:29 UTC

Horst.Epp wrote: But this can be accomplished using a button for Beyond compare with the selected dirs as parameters. What would be the benefit having this in the Synchronize dirs ?
Oh, yes.
I haven't tried that.
It works with the TC command: "compare by content" :)
Thanks.

Post Reply