Total commander does not change drive selected in the combobox in the upper left corner

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

ldor

Total commander does not change drive selected in the combobox in the upper left corner

Post by *ldor »

I've been encountering this problem since a few years already on 3 different computers. Two of them run Windows 7, the third one runs Windows 10. I don't remember on which version of TC the problem appeared first but with the latest version it is still there.
So, from time to time TC stops changing the drive when I select a different drive in the small combobox located in the upper left cornet of either pane. The drive letter in the combobox changes but the directory displayed in the respective pane does not change. A temporary solution is to close TC and to open it again. Then it would be able to change drive 1-2 times, then the problem comes up again. Restarting the computer helps better. Then for some time TC is able to change drive but ultimately the problem reappears.
As I said, it's already the third computer where I am encountering this problem, so it must be something general, not computer specific.
petermad
Power Member
Power Member

Re: Total commander does not change drive selected in the combobox in the upper left corner

Post by *petermad »

What kind of drives do you experience this with? Local harddisks? Local harddisk partitions? Mapped drives (local or network shares)? Media drives (smartphone etc)? Removable drives (CD-drives, USB-drives, USB-sticks, Floppy drives (getting nostalgic))? RAM-drives? Substituted drives?

Are you in a locked tab when you change drive (then the drive will open in another tab)?

Next time it happens for you could you maybe provide a screenshot...?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50b4 on Android 6 & 13