Compare by contents fails to resync automatically

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

JoopNL

Compare by contents fails to resync automatically

Post by *JoopNL »

Hi, first of all, thank you Christian for this great tool! I've been using it almost daily for close to 25 years!

I want to report a bug in the Compare by Content feature. When comparing code files, I very often have to manually resync the comparison in very simple situations. An example: Image: https://images2.imgbox.com/f4/1e/xLaoxJOk_o.png

The wrong lines are put together here. Th and th should not be enough reason to match these lines, while the identical line is found just below that. The case sensitive checkbox makes no difference here by the way. At the end of both files are two identical lines, but these are also not matched. So to get to the comparison I want (and in my opinion the correct comparison), I have to resync manually twice. This comparison was with "Ignore repeated spaces" on, which is what I mostly use. Turning this off makes it worse though. Also see that another tool, like the KDiff3 example, does get this right the first time.

Please fix/improve this.

You may say this is "by design". In that case, please move this topic to a feature request. :D In any case I think it would be very beneficial if this could be improved!

The two files in text form:

Code: Select all

File 1:
Please Fix( this )
{
    switch( this )
    {
        // Total Commander rocks
    }   
}

File 2:
Please Fix( this )
{
    if ( fixed ) // Thank you!
    {
        switch( this )
        {
            // Total Commander rocks even more
        }
    }
}
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member

Re: Compare by contents fails to resync automatically

Post by *JOUBE »