Annoying "Error executing program" message

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
pawelsky
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-07, 23:33 UTC
Location: Poland

Annoying "Error executing program" message

Post by *pawelsky »

In my FS plugin in FsExecuteFile method I handle the open verb in the following way:

Code: Select all

if (strcmp(Verb, "open") == 0)
{
  return FS_EXEC_YOURSELF;
}
When I press ENTER on such file in the plugin this works fine only for files that have some shell->open->command associated in registry (e.g. txt file opens in notepad, .jpg file opens in image viever, etc.). Unfortunately for files with extensions that don't have any associations (e.g. .xyz or no extension at all) I always recieve "Error executing program" message which is quite annoying.

Is it an expected behaviour? Can this message be somehow disabled?
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3378
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

This is a Windows-Message...

2nd you dont need to open a new thread for every question.
Hoecker sie sind raus!
pawelsky
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-07, 23:33 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *pawelsky »

This is a Windows-Message...
Well, the Message box has "Total Commander" in the title bar so this is rather a TC popup, not a Windows one.
2nd you dont need to open a new thread for every question.
My two questions were about two completely different problems, so I think it's better to have them in separate threads.
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

pawelsky wrote:My two questions were about two completely different problems, so I think it's better to have them in separate threads.
Right.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
User avatar
CoMiKe
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: 2003-05-05, 17:45 UTC
Location: Salamanca, Spain

Post by *CoMiKe »

Sir SiLvA wrote:2nd you dont need to open a new thread for every question.
I don't think this is the best way to talk to a potential plugin developer...
pawelsky
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-01-07, 23:33 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *pawelsky »

As there are no replies let me rephrase the problem.

I have a my_example_file.no_assoiciation file (with extension that has no association in registry) on a C: drive

When I press ENTER on this file in TC, Windows opens an "Open with..." dialog box. Now I copy the file to my plugin's filesystem and press ENTER on the copy. Instead of the "Open with..." dialog I get the "Error executing program" message from TC (this is not a windows message as Sir_SiLvA suggested).

Why is the behaviour different on C: drive than on the plugin filesystem? Note that for files with extensions that have some associations in registry behaviour is exactly the same on C: drive and on filesystem plugin - the file is opened with the associated application.

You can reproduce this problem also on other FS plugins (e.g. Temporary Panel by Sergey Puljajev http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/temporarypanel.html) so this rather looks as problem in TC.

P.S. I use Windows XP SP2 and TC 6.54
Post Reply