This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Synch Dirs/Compare by Content: Bug in "compare by conte
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like your motherboard has a general problem with 4 modules. Does it support 4 GB modules? Maybe 1x 4GB will work?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tests made on the following motherboards:

GigaByte GA-P43-ES3G (http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=2960#ov)
- max 16Gb (4x4Gb) supported
1st set (2x2GB DDR2 DIMMs) - same modules from Kingston (not paired)
- 2x2Gb tested - errors

Zotac GF9300-GE (http://pden.zotac.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage_images.tpl&product_id=208&category_id=7&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1)
- max 8Gb (2x4Gb) supported
1st set (2x2GB DDR2 DIMMs) - same modules from Kingston (not paired)
- 2x2Gb tested - errors
2nd set (2x1Gb DDR2 DIMMs) - identical (paired) set from Corsair
- 2x1Gb tested - OK

SuperMicro X7SPA-HF-D525 (http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/ATOM/ICH9/X7SPA-HF-D525.cfm)
- max 4Gb (2x2Gb) supported
3rd set (2x2Gb DDR3 SODIMMs) - same modules from Kingston (not paired)
- 2x2Gb tested - errors
- 1st 1x2Gb tested - OK
- 2nd 1x2Gb tested - OK
4th set (2x2Gb DDR3 SODIMMs) - same modules from Samsung (looks like not paired - do not remember)
- 2x2Gb tested - errors
5th set (2x2Gb DDR3 SODIMMs) - identical (paired) set from Corsair
- 2x2Gb tested - errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you use Windows with 32-bit, you cannot access the full 4 GB anyway. Maybe the problem isn't with the RAM, but with the overlap between it and some other device (e.g. a display adapter)?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now I'm running Windows Server 2003 Enterprise - it can access up to 64Gb of RAM, with not more then 4Gb for each process.

Guess in case of overlap with driver the system will crash, isn't it? Also 3 those boards use different display adapters, so the situation should look different, while now it's the same for each MB.

I think that this is a problem with TC memory management somewhere.

The final tests are all made on the SuperMicro's board. The latest findings are:

- Execute-disable bit capability is ENABLED for the CPU thru BIOS. (disabling it causes some tests to run OK, depending on some parameters in BOOT.INI. However, I would prefer to have it enabled)

then, changing parameters in BOOT.INI

- /Execute - test runs OK (My computer - Properties reports 3Gb RAM)
- /Execute /PAE - errors (My computer - Properties reports 4Gb RAM + Physical Address Extension)

Some more results later...

I'm already not sure that this will help, but just for information...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group