Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white
Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
Hi there,
Is there an easy way to past the path on the clipboard to TC? Somewhat like in the browser where you can hit Ctrl-L and past the address.
(I have look into the hotkeys but it is not there)
Kr, Tom
Is there an easy way to past the path on the clipboard to TC? Somewhat like in the browser where you can hit Ctrl-L and past the address.
(I have look into the hotkeys but it is not there)
Kr, Tom
You can click on the address bar (where the path is shown) and paste !
If you want just a hotkey, you can also make a user command that use nircmd from nirsoft !
ex em_GoToCLIP
If you want just a hotkey, you can also make a user command that use nircmd from nirsoft !
ex em_GoToCLIP
Code: Select all
command: <P_athTo>\nircmd.exe
parameters:exec %%commander_exe%% /O "~$clipboard$"
Hi nsp,
I was looking for a way to do it with a keyboard as I most actions in TC are possible with keys withouth ever touching the mouse (that's why I have a distaste in explorer).
Does nircmd start a new instance of total commander of does it set the path in the current open TC?
I will try it later on my home pc (firewall@work)
Kr, Tom
I was looking for a way to do it with a keyboard as I most actions in TC are possible with keys withouth ever touching the mouse (that's why I have a distaste in explorer).
Does nircmd start a new instance of total commander of does it set the path in the current open TC?
I will try it later on my home pc (firewall@work)
Kr, Tom
- Vochomurka
- Power Member
- Posts: 816
- Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
- Location: Russia
- Contact:
Single user license #329241
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander
- Native2904
- Member
- Posts: 164
- Joined: 2014-01-30, 14:23 UTC
- Location: Aachen
Re: Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
Hello,
a long time ago, late at night, I copied a code snippet from the forum and added it to my `usercmd`, but I no longer remember where exactly it came from or what its purpose was. Using the forum search, I found this thread and hope you can help me.
What exactly can I do with this entry, and in which work situation is it intended to be used?
a long time ago, late at night, I copied a code snippet from the forum and added it to my `usercmd`, but I no longer remember where exactly it came from or what its purpose was. Using the forum search, I found this thread and hope you can help me.
Code: Select all
[em_GoToCLIP]
button=%COMMANDER_PATH%\TOTALCMD64.EXE
cmd=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\NirCmd\nircmd.exe
param=exec %%commander_exe%% /O "~$clipboard$"
path=%COMMANDER_PATH%
Glückauf
#270101 Single user licence.
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz | 8,00 GB | Windows 10 Pro Build: 19045.5011
#270101 Single user licence.
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz | 8,00 GB | Windows 10 Pro Build: 19045.5011
Re: Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
It defines the user-defined command "em_GoToCLIP" which can be used anywhere where you can use an internal command. It's purpose is to navigate to the folder name currently on the Windows clipboard.Native2904 wrote: 2025-03-26, 17:41 UTC What exactly can I do with this entry, and in which work situation is it intended to be used?
Since TC 11.50, TC supports pseudo environment variables for the clipboard, for example %$CLIPBOARD%. Thus using an external tool like this is no longer necessary. You can simply use "cd %$CLIPBOARD%" now.
Re: Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
I tried button whith command:
cd %CLIPBOARD%
I have e.g. c:\Program Files\ in clipboard and after click on button it does not change dir in tc filelist. TC 11.51. What is wrong?
cd %CLIPBOARD%
I have e.g. c:\Program Files\ in clipboard and after click on button it does not change dir in tc filelist. TC 11.51. What is wrong?
Re: Navigate to a folder by pasting a path somehow?
All pseudovariables have '$' after the first '%'. You missed it. But in any case, it's much better to use cd %$CLIPNAME_NE1%.
In command chains, you need to add Q or q. Example: cd %$CLIPNAME_NEQ1%,cm_GoToFirstEntry
Overquoting is evil! 👎