This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

F3 View (Lister) always opens on right side of the monitor

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blurpknurft
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:05 am    Post subject: F3 View (Lister) always opens on right side of the monitor Reply with quote

In prior versions when hitting F3 View (Lister = Internal Viewer) on a .txt file (and numerous other files Lister opens) the lister window was opened in the middle of the monitor (not full screen).

With 9.20 it tries to open the window on the right side of the monitor as if you have pressed Windows-Arrow Up followed by Windows-Arrow Right. If there is only one monitor it looks just like that.

If you have multiple monitors with the monitor in the middle being the primary with on the right next to it the second monitor it tries to do that as well but is failing. It shifts down a little bit and you have to hit Windows-Arrow Up followed by Windows-Arrow Right to align the top part with the Total Command window itself.

How can I force Lister to center in the middle of the monitor again?

I am observing this with Windows 7 64-bit (Build 7601; Service Pack 1) as well as with Windows XP SP3 using Total Command 9.20 32-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35956
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just move the window where you want it, and choose "Save position" from the menu.

This was changed because it was left to Windows itself tzo choose a position, and it was often not helpful at all.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
blurpknurft
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried that but did not work as expected. I made the view window a bit smaller and moved it to the middle of my monitor and hit the "Save position" for it.

Following closure and re-opening of the file it is now located on the left hand side (instead of the middle location) of the monitor using the size I moved it to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 637
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7851
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Notice:
Just to make sure: It is not the "Save position" in TC-s Main menu -> Configuration -> Save Position you shall use but the "Save position" in Listers own menu -> Options -> Save Position
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
blurpknurft
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I am using the "Save position" option in Listers own menu when trying to get it sticky in the middle of the monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35956
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please check in Total Commander main menu - Help - About Total Commander where the wincmd.ini is stored. You may not have write rights there.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
blurpknurft
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope it is not a rights issue. If that would have been true it would not have re-positioned to the left side of the monitor after I saved the position in the middle of the monitor.

What appears to be happening here is that the x and y positioning are stored within the wincmd.ini file for lister with fixed values 0 and 22:

[Lister]
Wrap=1
Maximized=0
x=0
y=22
dx=1044
dy=812

It does not matter at what position on the monitor I save things.

I reset the lister settings in the wincmd.ini file to only the following lines:
[Lister]
Wrap=1

When I start viewing a file now it opens up on the right hand side as outlined in my initial posting.
When I save that position in Lister it updates the section to:
[Lister]
Wrap=1
Maximized=0
x=0
y=22
dx=944
dy=918

And now it opens on the left hand side of the monitor even though I did not actually change a thing.

My current workaround is to first size the List window to what I prefer and save it. Next I edit the Lister section to adjust the x and y value to the position I would like to get it dropped.

Hopefully this information helps you to find the source of this problem. It looks like a generic issue here since I am observing it on multiple PCs.
They are either running Windows 7 x64 or Windows XP SP3 and all using the 32 bit version from Total Commander.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 637
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... Old 75% height and width of desktop size was more useful, than vertical halfscreened.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7851
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2blurpknurft
When I move the lister window from my left screen to the right screen (two screens in total) and save the position then:
x=400
y=100

change to:

x=2038
y=72

in wincmd.ini and the new position is used the next time I open Lister, so I cannot reproduce your problem.

Maybe you could try with a clean ini file and see what happens. Maybe some other setting is influencing it.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35956
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2blurpknurft
Sorry, I don't get your point. The saving of the Lister position has not been changed in TC 9.20, it works the same as in TC 9.12.

Do you mean that when you save the position, then close and re-open Lister, it will not appear at the saved position? I cannot reproduce that here. Sad
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
blurpknurft
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally figured it out! You can mark this issue as invalid.

After quite some debugging by rebuilding the wincmd.ini file up from scratch on a vanilla machine I got it nailed down.

The tlister wlx plugin was causing my issues and hence there wasn't anything wrong with Total Commander at all. It appeared I had an older version in use and after replacing it with the latest version (1.20) and taking care of getting it in as the first entry within the [ListerPlugins] section everything is working now as prior to me upgrading from 9.12a to 9.20.

[ListerPlugins]
0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\tlister\tlister.wlx
0_detect="MULTIMEDIA"

I have absolutely no clue why it started to act up just now after my upgrade on my machines. Anyway, it is resolved now!! Very Happy

Yeah, maybe I should not be using plugins like this as it is not even noted on the plugin page on the ghisler website. Fact is that I really like the plugin as instead of having multiple lister windows being opened it is just one tabbed window.

Feature request for an upcoming release??? Idea
It would also eliminate me being stuck on the 32 bit version since for instance this plugin is only available 32 bit...

Thank you all for trying to help me and figure out what was going on here. Glad it is not caused by a Total Commander issue and it was soley due to my setup. Embarassed Sorry!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 10922
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moderation:
Moved to the English forum.

Hacker (Moderator)

_________________
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group