How does the TC update check work?

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Pathduck
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2007-11-23, 19:43 UTC
Location: Oslo

How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Pathduck »

Hi,
first of all congratulations on the release of TC 11, I've been using TC for over two decades and it's my super-toolbox for getting things done :D

A question: I use TC on the admin-server at work and after the v11 update was released, TC notifies on startup there's a new version available. I was not expecting this, as this admin-server is not connected to the internet at all. So apparently TC is able to bypass several firewalls/routers to get outside, or I'm misunderstanding something?

I've tried to have a look using Wireshark and Smartsniff but I'm unable to see what connections are being made.
My *guess* it uses some kind of WinInet component to do a connection, possibly over UDP?

I'm wondering if there might be a misconfiguration on our side and it would be interesting to know 8)

Stian
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5789
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *white »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2016-12-15, 15:19 UTC My update checks work only once a day with DNS lookups, which are cached by internet access providers. So please use these instead.

Instructions are here:
http://www.ghisler.com/news.htm
Pathduck
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2007-11-23, 19:43 UTC
Location: Oslo

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Pathduck »

Oh yeah - that's clever :D

Code: Select all

releaseversion.ghisler.com. 900 IN      TXT     "10.11.0.0;1"
Outbound DNS works I guess, even from inside the network.

I guess I totally missed those requests when looking at traffic - now that I know what to look for it's obvious :mrgreen:

Thanks for the information!
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5789
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *white »

Pathduck wrote: 2023-08-07, 08:59 UTC Thanks for the information!
👍 Happy to be of service.
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *MaxX »

releaseversion.ghisler.com
Can I access this via browser?
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
JOUBE
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1664
Joined: 2004-07-08, 08:58 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *JOUBE »

MaxX wrote: 2023-08-07, 13:45 UTC
releaseversion.ghisler.com
Can I access this via browser?
Maybe at a Webpage that supports nslookup. Or on the command line?

Code: Select all

nslookup -type=txt releaseversion.ghisler.com
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4049
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *tuska »

RELEASEversion

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cmd.exe /c "nslookup -type=TXT releaseversion.ghisler.com & pause"

%COMMANDER_EXE%,2
RELEASEversion: Check for updates with command line on Windows|cmd.exe /c "nslookup -type=TXT releaseversion.ghisler.com & pause"|https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=352381#p352381|[https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=52012 Settings/Manually]

0
-1
Pathduck
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2007-11-23, 19:43 UTC
Location: Oslo

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Pathduck »

MaxX wrote: 2023-08-07, 13:45 UTC
releaseversion.ghisler.com
Can I access this via browser?
Yes :mrgreen:

https://networkcalc.com/api/dns/lookup/releaseversion.ghisler.com

https://www.nslookup.io/domains/releaseversion.ghisler.com/dns-records/txt/

https://mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=txt%3areleaseversion.ghisler.com

Or curl:

Code: Select all

$ curl -s "https://networkcalc.com/api/dns/lookup/releaseversion.ghisler.com" | jq '.records.TXT[]'
"10.11.0.0;1"
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3378
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

TC also checks (if you have check for beta enabled it in the options)
releasenobeta.ghisler.com to see if there is a beta at all
and if yes it checks releasebeta.ghisler.com for latest beta version

HTH
Hoecker sie sind raus!
User avatar
MaxX
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2012-03-23, 18:15 UTC
Location: UA

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *MaxX »

nslookup -type=TXT releaseversion.ghisler.com
That was pretty good. Interesting solution with 10.*.*.* IPs.
Ukrainian Total Commander Translator. Feedback and discuss.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50479
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

It has several advantages:
- it's privacy-friendly, we don't see the IP addresses of the users, only those of the name servers
- it greatly reduces server load because name server lookups are cached by Internet providers
- it works even when ghisler.com is down (ghisler.ch is secondary DNS server)
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 716
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Hurdet »

Do it have a TXT for Beta and Android Beta and Release Version?
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3378
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

Hurdet wrote: 2023-08-13, 10:26 UTC Do it have a TXT for Beta and Android Beta and Release Version?
for TC Betas:
Sir_SiLvA wrote: 2023-08-07, 15:44 UTC TC also checks (if you have check for beta enabled it in the options)
releasenobeta.ghisler.com to see if there is a beta at all
and if yes it checks releasebeta.ghisler.com for latest beta version
and no there is no such things for Android (which would be pointless)
Hoecker sie sind raus!
Hurdet
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 716
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Hurdet »

Sir_SiLvA wrote: 2023-08-13, 14:17 UTC and no there is no such things for Android (which would be pointless)
It would be useful to avoid installation for updating to those who prefer to avoid it.
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3378
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Re: How does the TC update check work?

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

Hurdet wrote: 2023-08-13, 14:58 UTC It would be useful to avoid installation for updating to those who prefer to avoid it.
#1 this sentence doesnt make any sense
#2 the playstore/fdroid should show if your version is recent
#3 if you wanna see which version is recent on a pc just check viewtopic.php?t=76644 for a changed title
Hoecker sie sind raus!
Post Reply